Research Guides: Diversity & Inclusion: Resources for Research

Are you doing research on diversity or a historically marginalized group? The following databases are the most likely to cover these topics.

For current issues or recent events, you may have better luck finding news articles from the newspaper databases in the second box.

Scholarly Databases

History & Demographics

Adam Matthew Collections (AM Explorer) This link opens in a new window
Through AM Explorer, you can now search millions of pages of primary sources spanning the 15th – 21st centuries. There are 88 different collections spanning historical periods from medieval times to the present. Important themes such as political borders and migrations, gender and sexuality, global history, and war and conflict can be studied with these archival documents.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes indexing for over 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present, citations and links to books and media reviews, and coverage for some titles back to the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is a data visualization and mapping tool which provides easy access to current and historical demographic information from the U.S. Decennial Census, American Community Survey (ACS), County Business Patterns, and more. Users can create maps and reports in order to visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history.

Thought & Society

ATLAReligion This link opens in a new window
An essential resource for religious and theological studies, providing bibliographic records covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history and religion in social issues. Includes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion,
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides reports of research and analysis on issues in the news. Coverage includes health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report focuses on a single issue and is written by a seasoned journalist.
Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations with abstracts to the world's literature in criminology, including trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment, and sentencing. Sources include international journals, books, reports, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Covers all areas of nursing and allied health sciences with access to full-text, scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Sources include peer-reviewed journals, book chapters, books, and dissertations.
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a large, multidisciplinary database that provides access to peer-reviewed, scholarly research in the following subject areas: Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social and Behavioral Sciences.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Complete with indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources; also includes searchable cited references.

Race & Ethnicity

Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
Explore the experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. Includes coverage of the African American experience from 1976 to the present day, sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.
Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
Includes context and solutions-oriented points of view within a scholarly collection of proprietary and licensed content on topics related to race, ethnicity, diversity, and inclusiveness.
Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive digital archive of primary source documents related to Hispanic American life. The collection is sourced from 17,000 global news sources, including over 700 Spanish-language or bilingual publications, dating from 2010 to today.

Gender & Sexuality

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 This link opens in a new window
This database covers topics including LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis. It provides researchers with the documents necessary to delve deep into the Gay Rights Movement with resources that may otherwise go undiscovered. Repositories for this collection include: Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation; Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives; Women's Energy Bank; GLBT Historical Society; National Library of Medicine; among other archives.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts covering the full spectrum of gender-related scholarship. It offers over a million records from scholarly and popular publications, including journals, books, conference papers and theses. Subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism and gender identity.
Women’s Issues and Identities This link opens in a new window
This collection focuses on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century. Along with providing a closer look at some of the pioneers of women’s movements, this collection offers scholars a deep dive into the issues that have affected women and the many contributions they have made to society.

Interdisciplinary

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database of over 10,000 academic journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and books. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study including the humanities, sciences and social sciences, education, arts, literature, and more.
(replaces Academic Search Complete)
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text journals, books and other published sources, covering all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content. Includes abstracts and full text from journals, books and book reviews, art work and images, performances and reviews, literature and criticisms, poems and short stories, and conference proceedings.
(replaces Humanities International Complete)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary archive of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics. JSTOR also contains a large collection of scholarly ebooks from academic publishers.

Newspaper Databases

Newspaper Database List
Check here for a complete listing of our subscriptions, including historical and current titles.

Newspaper Databases

US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. & international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Includes global information on topics related to business, economics, education, government, health, international studies, politics, science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.

National Papers: Free Subscription Access

Economist This link opens in a new window
The Economist is a weekly international news and business publication, offering clear reporting, commentary, and analysis on world current affairs, business, finance, science and technology, culture, society, media and the arts. Elizabethtown College students, faculty, and staff can receive online access via a subscription paid for by the High Library.

Once you have registered, you can then access economist.com from any location, on or off campus.
New York Times Academic Pass (Registration) This link opens in a new window
Elizabethtown College students, faculty, and staff can receive online access to the New York Times through its web site via a subscription paid for by the High Library.

Once you have registered, you can then access http://www.nytimes.com from any location, on or off campus.
Wall Street Journal Digital Access This link opens in a new window
Elizabethtown College students, faculty, and staff can receive online access to the Wall Street Journal through its web site via a subscription paid for by the High Library.

Once you have registered, you can access https://www.wsj.com/ from any location, on or off campus.
Washington Post (digital access) This link opens in a new window
The High Library offers faculty, students, and staff unlimited digital access to The Washington Post. Be sure to use the link found here in our A to Z list for access on or off-campus. Please note that you will not see any High Library branding, and ads and offers for personal subscriptions will still be visible.

NEW: You can now create an individual account to view the Washington Post online and utilize their app. Follow the instructions on the Digital Newspapers guide to create your account. Please note, you can still access the Washington Post online, on or off-campus by using the link above with no registration required.

Pennsylvania Papers: Free Subscription & Database Access

LNP Lancaster Online This link opens in a new window
Elizabethtown College students, faculty, and staff can receive access to the LNP Lancaster Online newspaper through its web site via a subscription paid for by the High Library. Access includes current and recent articles and full page images. Also includes searchable, full-text archives dating back to 1797.

Once you have registered, you can access https://lancasteronline.com from any location, on or off campus.
Patriot-News Collection This link opens in a new window
Explore Harrisburg history through local news, events and people with Patriot-News Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.

Historical National Papers: Database Access

New York Times Historical (1851-2017+) This link opens in a new window
A digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles dating back to the NY Times' origin. Every issue includes the complete paper cover-to-cover, with full-page and individual article images are easily downloadable in PDF format. Coverage: 1851-2013; with Index 1851-1993.
Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2012 This link opens in a new window
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
Wall Street Journal Historical (1889-2003+) This link opens in a new window
An authoritative source of global and national business reporting. Historical coverage includes more than 100 years of The Wall Street Journal’s accurate reporting, exclusive analysis, editorials, and opinions. In addition to the printed stories, researchers also can study the charts, stock tables, graphics, and illustrations featured in the publication.
Wall Street Journal (1984-Current) This link opens in a new window
An authoritative source of global and national business reporting. Coverage includes U.S. and international news, politics, arts, culture, lifestyle, sports, health and more.

The Washington Post (1988-Current)
Searchable access to the Washington Post through US Newsstream.

Washington Post Historical (1877-2004+) This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text and page images of this historical newspaper with easily searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events from its founding in 1877.

Historical Local & Specialized Papers: Database Access

Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1943.

Baltimore Sun Historical (1837-1995+) This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of the The Baltimore Sun. Includes reporting on pivotal issues and events of the 19th and early 20th centuries: immigration, the slave trade, commerce, the Civil War, Washington D.C. politics (The Baltimore Sun began publishing 40 years before the Washington Post), Americana, and literature.
Christian Science Monitor Historical (1908-2007+) This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of the Christian Science Monitor. Includes secular, balanced coverage of international news and events. For more than 100 years, its staff writers and correspondents around the world have reported on wars, scientific discoveries, human rights abuses, political campaigns, the arts, the environment, and people trying to make a positive difference.

Google News Archive
Searchable collection of newspapers in the public domain.
Lancaster History Digitized Newspapers
View the Columbia Spy, the Lancaster Intelligencer, the Lancaster Examiner & Herald, the Lancaster Farmer, the Lititz Newspaper Collection, and the New Holland Clarion.

Nineteenth Century US Newspapers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to a collection of 400 US newspapers from the 19th century. Includes full-text content and images from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the United States. Major newspapers stand alongside those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women’s rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and other select groups.
Philadelphia Inquirer Historical (1860-2001) This link opens in a new window
One of the longest surviving newspapers in the United States; known for its reporting of breaking news in the city, country, and around the world.

Pennsylvania Newspaper Archive
The Commonwealth's historical full-text searchable newspaper database. Newspapers from all 67 counties stretching back to our colonial roots to the present.

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Historical (1786-2003) This link opens in a new window
Nearly as old as the United States, this paper is today the largest daily newspaper serving metropolitan Pittsburgh. Offers valuable regional perspectives on international, national and local news.

Suggestions?

The lists on this guide are a continuous work in progress. We welcome suggestions! Please send suggestions to ask@etown.libanswers.com.

Would your student group, department, or office like to create a featured list of books and resources? Contact Jennifer Strain.