Research Guides: Research Help: Getting Started: Newspapers

Finding Newspapers in the High Library and Online

Cane farmers reading newspapers, Tully, ca. 1929

Which newspapers do we have?

Curious if we have access to a specific newspaper in the High Library or in one of our databases? Search for the title in JournalFinder.

Need help accessing our digital newspapers? Check out this guide to registering for a free subscription.

Local Newspapers

Elizabethtown Papers

College Newspapers

The Hess Archives has a full run of the College's newspaper, The Etownian, as well as its predecessor, Our College Times.

Issues of Our College Times and The Etownian from 1904-2008 are available online in our Digitial Collections.

Recent issues of The Etownian are available on the library's main level.

Elizabethtown Newspaper

If you're interested in local history, the High Library also has access to the Elizabethtown Chronicle on microfilm and in print (1928-2009). Ask us for more information!

LNP Lancaster Online This link opens in a new window
Elizabethtown College students, faculty, and staff can receive access to the LNP Lancaster Online newspaper through its web site via a subscription paid for by the High Library. Access includes current and recent articles and full page images. Also includes searchable, full-text archives dating back to 1797.

Once you have registered, you can access https://lancasteronline.com from any location, on or off campus.
Patriot-News Collection This link opens in a new window
Explore Harrisburg history through local news, events and people with Patriot-News Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.

Newspaper Subscriptions & Databases

Newspaper Database List
Check here for a complete listing of our subscriptions, including historical and current titles.

Newspaper Databases

US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. & international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Includes global information on topics related to business, economics, education, government, health, international studies, politics, science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.

National Papers: Free Subscription Access

Economist This link opens in a new window
The Economist is a weekly international news and business publication, offering clear reporting, commentary, and analysis on world current affairs, business, finance, science and technology, culture, society, media and the arts. Elizabethtown College students, faculty, and staff can receive online access via a subscription paid for by the High Library.

Once you have registered, you can then access economist.com from any location, on or off campus.
New York Times Academic Pass (Registration) This link opens in a new window
Elizabethtown College students, faculty, and staff can receive online access to the New York Times through its web site via a subscription paid for by the High Library.

Once you have registered, you can then access http://www.nytimes.com from any location, on or off campus.
Wall Street Journal Digital Access This link opens in a new window
Elizabethtown College students, faculty, and staff can receive online access to the Wall Street Journal through its web site via a subscription paid for by the High Library.

Once you have registered, you can access https://www.wsj.com/ from any location, on or off campus.
Washington Post (digital access) This link opens in a new window
The High Library offers faculty, students, and staff unlimited digital access to The Washington Post. Be sure to use the link found here in our A to Z list for access on or off-campus. Please note that you will not see any High Library branding, and ads and offers for personal subscriptions will still be visible.

NEW: You can now create an individual account to view the Washington Post online and utilize their app. Follow the instructions on the Digital Newspapers guide to create your account. Please note, you can still access the Washington Post online, on or off-campus by using the link above with no registration required.

Pennsylvania Papers: Free Subscription & Database Access

LNP Lancaster Online This link opens in a new window
Elizabethtown College students, faculty, and staff can receive access to the LNP Lancaster Online newspaper through its web site via a subscription paid for by the High Library. Access includes current and recent articles and full page images. Also includes searchable, full-text archives dating back to 1797.

Once you have registered, you can access https://lancasteronline.com from any location, on or off campus.
Patriot-News Collection This link opens in a new window
Explore Harrisburg history through local news, events and people with Patriot-News Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.

Historical National Papers: Database Access

New York Times Historical (1851-2017+) This link opens in a new window
A digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles dating back to the NY Times' origin. Every issue includes the complete paper cover-to-cover, with full-page and individual article images are easily downloadable in PDF format. Coverage: 1851-2013; with Index 1851-1993.
Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785-2012 This link opens in a new window
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
Wall Street Journal Historical (1889-2003+) This link opens in a new window
An authoritative source of global and national business reporting. Historical coverage includes more than 100 years of The Wall Street Journal’s accurate reporting, exclusive analysis, editorials, and opinions. In addition to the printed stories, researchers also can study the charts, stock tables, graphics, and illustrations featured in the publication.
Wall Street Journal (1984-Current) This link opens in a new window
An authoritative source of global and national business reporting. Coverage includes U.S. and international news, politics, arts, culture, lifestyle, sports, health and more.

The Washington Post (1988-Current)
Searchable access to the Washington Post through US Newsstream.

Washington Post Historical (1877-2004+) This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text and page images of this historical newspaper with easily searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events from its founding in 1877.

Historical Local & Specialized Papers: Database Access

Chronicling America
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1943.

Baltimore Sun Historical (1837-1995+) This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of the The Baltimore Sun. Includes reporting on pivotal issues and events of the 19th and early 20th centuries: immigration, the slave trade, commerce, the Civil War, Washington D.C. politics (The Baltimore Sun began publishing 40 years before the Washington Post), Americana, and literature.
Christian Science Monitor Historical (1908-2007+) This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of the Christian Science Monitor. Includes secular, balanced coverage of international news and events. For more than 100 years, its staff writers and correspondents around the world have reported on wars, scientific discoveries, human rights abuses, political campaigns, the arts, the environment, and people trying to make a positive difference.

Google News Archive
Searchable collection of newspapers in the public domain.
Lancaster History Digitized Newspapers
View the Columbia Spy, the Lancaster Intelligencer, the Lancaster Examiner & Herald, the Lancaster Farmer, the Lititz Newspaper Collection, and the New Holland Clarion.

Nineteenth Century US Newspapers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to a collection of 400 US newspapers from the 19th century. Includes full-text content and images from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the United States. Major newspapers stand alongside those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women’s rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and other select groups.
Philadelphia Inquirer Historical (1860-2001) This link opens in a new window
One of the longest surviving newspapers in the United States; known for its reporting of breaking news in the city, country, and around the world.

Pennsylvania Newspaper Archive
The Commonwealth's historical full-text searchable newspaper database. Newspapers from all 67 counties stretching back to our colonial roots to the present.

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette Historical (1786-2003) This link opens in a new window
Nearly as old as the United States, this paper is today the largest daily newspaper serving metropolitan Pittsburgh. Offers valuable regional perspectives on international, national and local news.