Research Guides: Research Help: Getting Started: Literary Criticism

Literary Criticism Databases

Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
This database provides online access to the full-text of the Thomson Gale Literature Criticism Reference Sets Contemporary Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism & Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. Includes author biographical information, criticism (excerpts or full-text) published from an author's own time to the present as well as bibliographical information.

Gale Literary Index
An index of the articles across all of the Gale Literary Criticism series.

Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
A large collection of full-text works of prose, poetry and drama. Works may be located by author or title, or searched full-text for specific words or phrases. Also includes secondary sources of biographical and critical pieces on authors and their works.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This bibliography database directs researchers to more than 3 million citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, scholarly websites, editions, and translations published from the late 19^th century to the present. Covers a broad range of humanities subjects, including world languages and literature, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing studies, teaching of language, and history of publishing.
(replaces MLA International Bibliography)
Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides the most relevant information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes focusing on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature and children's literature. Also includes volumes of fantasy/science fiction, contemporary literature, world philosophy and religious literature, and literary study guides covering American Literature, English Literature and literary genres.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary archive of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics. JSTOR also contains a large collection of scholarly ebooks from academic publishers.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text journals, books and other published sources, covering all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content. Includes abstracts and full text from journals, books and book reviews, art work and images, performances and reviews, literature and criticisms, poems and short stories, and conference proceedings.
(replaces Humanities International Complete)
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database of over 10,000 academic journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and books. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study including the humanities, sciences and social sciences, education, arts, literature, and more.
(replaces Academic Search Complete)

Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Includes criticism and author biographical information for Short Stories, Contemporary Literature, 20th Century Literature, 19th Century Literature, Literature from 1400-1800, Shakespeare's Works, and Classical & Medieval Literature. All of these titles are indexed in the Gale Literary Index.

Horn Book Magazine
Includes reviews of the best children's books published, articles about children's books, explorations of children's books from every perspective and news of the children's book world.
Kirkus Reviews
Publishes reviews for fiction, mysteries, sci-fi, translations, nonfiction, & children's books.
School Library Journal
The most complete provider of news, information and reviews for librarians and media specialists who serve children and young adults in school and public libraries. Also available in print in the library.
Booklist
Provides a review guide to current print and nonprint materials worthy of consideration for purchase by small and medium-sized public libraries and school library media centers.
Book Links
A magazine designed for teachers, librarians, booksellers, parents and other interested adults in connecting children with books. Focuses on articles that target those people that educate children from preschool through eighth grade. Reviews are organized into themed lists.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
All of these journal and periodicals are available to search through Academic Search Complete.
(replaces Academic Search Complete)