Research Guides: Research Help: Getting Started: Business Industry Info

Company Info

Mergent Intellect
Information about U.S. and international businesses that include including company profiles, industry overviews, forecasts, trends, income & balance sheet financials, and industry ratios.

Company Info Guide
Our guide to finding company information online.

Online sources

Business Source Complete
A scholarly business database that includes case studies, company profiles, country reports, financial data, market research reports, journal articles, and trade magazines. Coverage: 1886-present.
Mergent Intellect
Information about U.S. and international businesses that include including company profiles, industry overviews, forecasts, trends, income & balance sheet financials, and industry ratios.
IBISworld

Features thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information which provides valuable insights into America's 700+ industries. Includes information on industry performance, outlooks, products and markets, operating conditions and risk ratings. Many thanks to the The High Center for funding this subscription!
Valueline Investment Survey (access limited to 5 simultaneous users)

Provides access to leading publications covering industry information, stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks.
Academic Search Ultimate

A multi-disciplinary full-text database of over 10,000 academic journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and books. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study including the humanities, sciences and social sciences, education, arts, literature, and more.

(replaces Academic Search Complete)

North American Industry Classification System
Allows one to find equivalent industry codes between the Standard Industrial Code (SIC) and the NAICS.
Business Research Guide: Elizabethtown College
Investments Guide: Elizabethtown College

Business/Industry Resources in the Reference Collection

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
Call Number: Ref HC106.6 .S74

Includes basic and current analysis for 33 major domestic industries. Includes financial comparisons of the leading companies in each industry and is updated quarterly.
RMA Annual Statement Studies
Call Number: Ref HF5681.B2 R53

Contains composite financial data on manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting lines of business. Arranged by SIC code, this work makes it possible to compare one company's performance relative to other companies in the same line of business.
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Call Number: Ref HF5681.R25 A45

Provides financial ratios for companies in various asset ranges by SIC code. Data reported are based on aggregate numbers from IRS records.
North American Industry Classification System
Call Number: Ref HF1042 .N678 2022

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is an indispensable volume of official industry codes used by businesses, libraries, and other establishments and individuals to complete tax returns, grant requests, and fill out other forms and to improve analyses and comparisons of different industries. Also available online.
Encyclopedia of American Industries
Call Number: eBook

An ever-evolving marketplace drives home the need for research on business and
industry. Volume 1 covers more than 460 manufacturing industries. Volume 2 has approximately
320 essays on such industries as agriculture, mining, construction, wholesale and retail.
Volume 3 delivers nearly 230 essays on topics of finance, insurance, real estate, service
industries and public administration.
Encyclopedia of Global Industries
Call Number: eBook

Chronicles the history, development and current status of the world's most lucrative and high profile industries. Each entry covers size and economic/social impact of the industry; its organization and structure; its history and development; major countries and companies involved (including rankings); size and nature of the work force; and research.