Skip to main content
site header image

Faculty Scholarship Celebration: 2015 Celebration

Faculty Scholarship Celebration 2015 Booklet

2015 Faculty Scholarship Celebration

Adams, K. V. E. (2013). Women and literary criticism. In M. A. R. Habib (Ed.). Cambridge history of literary criticism, Vol. 6, The nineteenth century (pp. 72-94). Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.

Atwood, S. A. (Principal Investigator). (2013-2018). Engineering practices with impact cohort (EPIC) scholarship for high achieving women in engineering at Elizabethtown College. National Science Foundation, Division of Undergraduate Education, S-Stem Program. Amount funded: $531,885.

Bahr, E. C., & Yorty, J. L. (2013). Rapid decrease in CD8+ T cells following treatment of mice with exogenous corticosterone. BIOS, 84(3), 148-157.

Behrens, G. A. (2011, June 30). Monk playing buk ceremonial drum to begin 3 am worship at Haeinsa Buddhist Temple, South Korea [photograph]. Reflections and memories -- My visual memoirs [Photography show]. September 2013 - May 2014, Elizabethtown College, Elizabethtown, PA.

Behrens, G. A. (2012). Use of traditional and nontraditional instruments with traumatized children in Bethlehem, West Bank. Music Therapy Perspectives, 30(2), 196-202.

Behrens, G. A. (2014, July 9).  Development of a music therapy framework for stress trauma treatment [Presentation slides]. Conference workshop at the fourteenth World Federation of Music Therapy Congress, Austria.

Benowitz, J-P., & DePuydt, P. J. (2014). Elizabethtown College. Charleston, SC: Arcadia Pub.

Bent-Goodley, T., St. Vil, N., & Hubbert, P. (2012). Spirit unbroken: The black church's evolving response to domestic violence. Social Work & Christianity, 39(1), 52-65. Retrieved from SocINDEX with Full Text.

Bomberger, E. D. (2013). MacDowell. New York, NY: Oxford University Press.

Bomberger, E. D. (2014). Kindness of strangers: Edward MacDowell and Breslau. American Music, 32(1), 24-45. doi: 10.5406/americanmusic.32.1.0024

Bossenga, G. (2011). Financial origins of the French Revolution. In T. E. Kaiser, & D. K. Van Kley (Eds.), From deficit to deluge: The origins of the French Revolution (pp. 37-66). Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press.

Bossenga, G. (2012). Estates, orders, and corps. In W. Doyle (Ed.) Oxford handbook of the Ancien Regime (pp. 141-166). Oxford, NY: Oxford University Press.

Bowne, D. R., Downing, A. L., Hoopes, M. F., LoGiudice, K., Thomas, C. L., Anderson, L. J., ... Shea, K. L. (2011). Transforming ecological science at primarily undergraduate institutions through collaborative networks. BioScience, 61(5), 386-392.

Bowne, D. R., & Johnson, E. R. (2013). Comparison of soil carbon dioxide efflux between residential lawns and corn fields. Soil Science Society of America Journal, 77(3), 856-859.

Bucher, C., Leiter, D. A., & Ramirez, F. (Eds). (2010). Witness of the Hebrew Bible for a New Testament Church. Elgin, IL: Brethren Press.

Ciocirlan, C. E. (2009). Analyzing the relative strength of policy instruments to stimulate renewable enery markets: A comparative state analysis. Journal of Comparative Policy Analysis: Research and Practice, 11(4), 515-538.

Ciocirlan, C., Chung, E., & McLarney, C. (2011). Against all odds: A strategic analysis of the fall of Hong Kong, 1941. Management Decision, 49(6), 984-1000.

Ciocirlan, C., & Petterson, C. (2012). Does workforce diversity matter in the fight against climate change? An analysis of Fortune 500 Companies. Corporate Social Responsibility and Environmental Management, 19(1), 47-62. doi:10.1002/csr.279

Craver-Lemley, C., & Reeves, A. (2013). Is synesthesia a form of mental imagery? In S. Lacey, & R. Lawson (Eds.), Multisensory imagery (pp. 185-206). New York, NY: Springer.

Devine, C. J., & Kopko, K. C. (2011). Vice presidential home state advantage reconsidered: Analyzing the interactive effect of home state population and political experience, 1884-2008. Presidential Studies Quarterly, 41(1). 1-17. doi: 10.1111/j.1741-5705.2010.03828.x

Downing, D. C. (2010). Looking for the king: An Inklings novel. San Franciso, CA: Ignatius Press.

Downing, D. C. (2013). Beauty is in the "I" of the beholder: A critique of Lewis's aesthetic theories in the abolition of man. In R. Miller (Ed.), C. S. Lewis and the arts: Creativity in the shadowlands (pp. 1-7). Baltimore, MD: Square Halo Books.

Dunlap, A. (2013, November). Out in the country: Increasing LGBT competency for rural BSW students. Poster presented at the annual program meeting of the Council on Social Work Education, Dallas, TX.

Dunlap, A. (2014). Coming out narratives across generations: A preliminary investigation. Journal of Gay and Lesbian Social Services, 26(3), 318-335.

Dursun-Ozkanca, O. (2014a). British public opinion and mass-elite relations on EU enlargement: Implications on the democratic deficit debate. CEU Political Science Journal, 9(1-2), 62-87.

Dursun-Ozkanca, O. (Ed.). (2014b). European Union as an actor in security sector reform: Current practices and challenges of implementation. New York, NY: Routledge.

Estrada, T., & Antsaklis, P. J. (2010). Model-based control with intermittent feedback: Bridging the gap between continuous and instantaneous feedback. International Journal of Control, 83, 2588-2605.

Fellinger, R. (2012). They hover over us. Valdosta, GA: Snake Nation Press.

Garrett, C. H. (Ed.) (2013). Grove dictionary of American music (2nd ed.). (Vols. 1-8). New York, NY: Oxford University Press.

Haines, J., & Rohrkemper, J. (2008, March 15). Las Madres de la Plaza [DVD]. Leffler Chapel and Performance Center, Elizabethtown College, Elizabethtown, PA.

Haley-Mize, S., & Walker, D. (2014). Effect of instructional methodology on preservice educators' technological, pedagogical, and content knowledge. International Journal of Learning in Higher Education, 20, 13-25.

Haley-Mize, S., & Bishop, J. (in press). Exploring TPACK model practices: Designing, facilitating and evaluating effectiveness of constructivist technology-integration experiences among pre-service teachers. In C. Angeli-Valanides, & N. Valanides (Eds.), Technological pedagogical content knowledge. Springer.

Harman, M. (2011). "Torturing the Gordian Knot:" Kafka and metaphor. In S. Corngold, & R. V. Gross (Eds.), Kafka for the twenty-first century (pp. 48-63). Rochester, NY: Camden House.

Harman, M. (2012, September 14). No shell [Review of the book Hesse-Der Wanderer und sein Schatten, by G. Decker]. Times Literary Supplement, 5711, 7-8.

Jaucourt, L., chavalier de. (2013). Paysage. (P. L. Ricci, Trans.). In Encyclopedia of Diderot & d'Alembert collaborative translation project. Ann Arbor, MI: Michigan Publishing, University of Michigan Library. (Original work published 1765, Vol. 12, pp. 212-213 in Encyclopedie ou Dictionnaire raisonne des sciences, des arts et des metiers). Retrieved from http://quod.lib.umich.edu/d/did/did2222.0002.618?view=text;rgn=main

Jones, M., Roy, M. M., & Verkuilen, J. (2014). Relationship between reflective rumination and musical ability. Psychology of Aesthetics, Creativity, and the Arts, 8(2), 219-226. doi: 10.1037/a0035634

Kenley, D. L., & DePuydt, P. J. (2010). Sword of the spirit: A silent relic from China's Christian past. Journal of Asian History, 44, 51-69.

Kenley, D. (2011). Overseas print capitalism and Chinese nationalism in the early twentieth century. In R. Chopra, & R. Gajjala (Eds.), Global media, cultures, and identities (pp. 68-82). New York, NY: Routledge Press.

Kenley, D. (2013). Construyendo una comunidad imaginada en America Latina: Fraternidad/Lianhe de La Habana, 1938-1944. In S. C. Mio, R. M. Esquivel, & J. B. Villanueva (Eds.). (E. Q. Montiel, Trans.), Estudios sobre China desde Latinoamerica: Modernidad, geopolitica, religion e inmigracion (pp. 250-274). San Jose: University of Costa Rica Press.

Kopko, K. C., Bryner, S. M., Budziak, J., Devine, C. J., & Nawara, S. P. (2011). In the eye of the beholder? Motivated reasoning in disputed elections. Political Behavior, 33(2). 271-290. doi:10.1007/s11109-010-9133-x

Lewis, C. S. (2014). Pilgrim's regress: Wade annotated edition. D. C. Downing (Ed.). Grand Rapids, MI: William B. Eerdmans Publishing Company.

Long, J. D. (2009). Jainism: An introduction. New York, NY: I.B. Tauris & Co Ltd.

Long, J. D. (2011). Historical dictionary of Hinduism (new ed.). Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press.

Long, M. G. (2014). Gay is good: The life and letters of gay rights pioneer Franklin Kameny. Syracuse, NY: Syracuse University Press.

Mapp, S. C. (2014). Human rights and social justice in a global perspective: An introduction to international social work (2nd ed.). New York, NY: Oxford University Press.

McClellan, E. F. (2009). Overview of the assessment movement. In M. D. Deardorff, K. Hamann, & J. Ishiyama (Eds.), Assessment in political science (pp. 39-58). Washington, DC: American Political Science Association.

McClellan, E. F. (in press). Best practices in undergraduate curricular design in American political science. In J. Ishiyama, W. Miller, & E. Simon (Eds.), Handbook of teaching and learning in political science and international relations. Edward Elgar Publishing.

Newsome, W. B. (2012). Women of the pavillons: A case study. Historical Reflections/Reflexions Historiques, 38(3). 107-128.

Newsome, W. B. (2014). Occupation, race, and empire: Maxence Van der Mersch's Invasion 14. Historical Reflections/Reflexions Historiques, 40(1). 47-66.

Newton, R. (2013). Seminarium: The elements of great teaching [Web log postings]. Fortress Press. Retrieved from http://seminariumblog.org

Newton, R. (2014, August 11). Afraid of the dark: A black professor's reflections on Michael Brown's killing. Urban Cusp. Retrieved from http://www.urbancusp.com

Poniatowski, K. (2014a, August). "United States and Russia once again": The Russian diva and the American golden girl in NBC's 2012 olympic gymnastics coverage. Paper presented at the annual meeting of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication, Montreal, Canada.

Poniatowski, K. (2014b, August). "United States and Russia once again": The Russian diva and the American golden girl in NBC's 2012 olympic gymnastics coverage. Poster session presented at the annual meeting of the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication, Montreal, Canada.

Pretz, J. E., Brookings, J. B., Carlson, L. A., Humbert, T. K., Roy, M., Jones, M., & Memmert, D. (2014). Development and validation of a new measure of intuition: The types of intution scale. Journal of Behavioral Decision Making, 27, 454-467.

Pretz, J. E., & McCollum, V. A. (2014). Self-perceptions of creativity do not always reflect actual creative performance. Psychology of Aesthetics, Creativity and the Arts, 8(2), 227-236. doi: 10.1037/a0035597

Ricci, G. R. (2012). Tempo of modernity. New Brunswick, NJ: Transaction Publishers.

Ricci, G. R. (Ed.). (2014). Faith, war, and violence. New Brunswick, NJ: Transaction Publishers.

Rilke, R. M. (2011). Letters to a young poet (M. Harman, Trans.). Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press.

Rood, J. A., Huttenstine, A. L., Schmidt, Z. A., White, M. R., & Oliver, A. G. (2014). Linear alkaline earth metal phosphinate coordination polymers: Synthesis and structural characterization. Acta Crystallographica Section B, 70, 602-607.

Roy, M. M., Devroop, K., & Getz, L. (in press). Improvement in South African students' outlook due to music involvement. Music Education Research. doi: 10.1080/14613808.2014.910183

Seymour, K. M., & Atwood, S. A. (2013). Computational analysis of microstructure of ultra high molecular weight polyethylene for total join replacement. Journal of Biomechanical Engineering, 135, 021017-1-6.

Shah, R. (2014, October 16). Expanding the community: An exploratory analysis of an American parole office's location and its impact on parolees. British Journal of Criminology, 1-20. doi: 10.1093/bjc/azu080 Retrieved from http://bjc.oxfordjournals.org/content/early/2014/10/16/bjc.azu080.abstract

Shorner-Johnson, K., & Moret, L. (in press). Curricular planning in music education: An exploration of teacher education beliefs. In M. Campbell, & L. Thompson (Eds.), Advances in music education research, Vol. 6. Information Age Publishing.

Skillen, M., Blunk, N., Kirgan, S., Orr, R., Pellegrino, K., Viscardi, A., & Walters, M. (2014). From innocence to relevance: Preservice teachers' reflections on attending the 2013 ALAN Workshop. ALAN Review, 41(3), 97-99.

Speary, K., & Shah, R. (in press). 'It's not illegal to be bizarre': Police decision-making process when coming in contact with persons with a mental illness. Journal of Psychology and Behavioral Sciences.

St. John, B., & Johnson, K. A. (Eds.) (2012). News with a view: Essays on the eclipse of objectivity in modern journalism. Jefferson, NC: McFarland.

St. Vil, N. M., St. Vil, C., & Johnson, W. E. (2014). Marriage diversity in the African American community. In T. B. Bent-Goodley (Ed.), By grace: The challenges, strengths, and promise of African American marriages (pp. 135-148). Washington, DC: NASW Press.

Teske, J. A. (2013). From embodied to extended cognition. Zygon, 48(3), 759-787.

Teske, J. A. (2014). Emotional psychology of religious diversity. In A. N. Balslev (Ed.), On world religions: Diversity, not dissension (pp. 127-146). Washington, DC: Sage.

Thomas, G. E., with Ricci, P. L., Webster, R. J., Newman, L. M., Janosov, R., & Thomas, B. (2010). Buildings of Pennsylvania: Philadelphia and Eastern Pennsylvania. Charlottesville, VA: University of Virginia Press.

Waltermire, D., Chaney, K., Sharpe, E., & Watt, L. (2014, April). Play and social participation: Children with congenital heart defects compared to typically developing peers. Poster session presented at the annual conference of the American Occupational Therapy Association, Baltimore, MD.

Waltermire, D., Walton, L., Steese, B., Riley, J., & Robertson, A. (2010, April 26). Assessing sensory characteristics of the work environment for adults with schizophrenia or schizoaffective disorder. OT Practice, 15(7), 12-14, 16-17.

Waters, J. (2011). Human resources. Temple, TX: Ink Brush Press.

Wohl, D. L., & Curry, W. J. (2009, August). Allergies, asthma, and eczema: Response to disturbance of the microbiota of the newborn gut [Presentation slides]. Conference talk at the Ecological Society of America and International Ecological Society Joint Meeting, Albuquerque, NM.

Wohl, D. L., Curry, W. J., Mauger, D., Miller, J., & Tyrie, K. (in press). Intrapartum antibiotics and childhood atopic dermatitis. Journal of the American Board of Family Medicine, 28(1).

Wolff, S., & Dursun-Ozkanca, O. (Eds). (2014). External interventions in civil wars: The role and impact of regional and international organisations. New York, NY: Routledge.

Yorty, J. L. (2013). Short-term corticosterone treatment decreases the early CD8+ T cell response to simian virus 40 tumor antigen but has no impact on the late CD8+ T cell response. Brain, Behavior, and Immunity, 28, 139-148.

Young, E. A. (2013). [Review of the book Encyclopedia of the Kennedy's: The people and events that shaped America, by J. M. Siracusa]. Reference & User Services Quarterly, 52(3), 266. Retrieved from Academic Search Premier.

Young Miller, E., Macaulay, L., Hyder-Darlington, L., & Toro, J. (2014, June). Learning from lesson plans and information literacy: How the two can work together to benefit students. Poster session presented at the annual conference of the American Library Association, Las Vegas, NV.