Research Guides: AC 370: Current Topics in Accounting: Home

Welcome!

Resources for Finding Current Events

This guide has a selection of news resources just for your subject.

If you are having trouble getting results or selecting the right resources, feel free to contact a librarian with questions!

Specific Publications

New York Times Academic Pass (Registration) This link opens in a new window
Elizabethtown College students, faculty, and staff can receive online access to the New York Times through its web site via a subscription paid for by the High Library.
Once you have registered, you can then access http://www.nytimes.com from any location, on or off campus.
Washington Post (digital access) This link opens in a new window
The High Library offers faculty, students, and staff unlimited digital access to The Washington Post. Be sure to use the link found here in our A to Z list for access on or off-campus. Please note that you will not see any High Library branding, and ads and offers for personal subscriptions will still be visible.

NEW: You can now create an individual account to view the Washington Post online and utilize their app. Follow the instructions on the Digital Newspapers guide to create your account. Please note, you can still access the Washington Post online, on or off-campus by using the link above with no registration required.
Wall Street Journal Digital Access This link opens in a new window
Elizabethtown College students, faculty, and staff can receive online access to the Wall Street Journal through its web site via a subscription paid for by the High Library.

Once you have registered, you can access https://www.wsj.com/ from any location, on or off campus.
Wall Street Journal (1984-Current) This link opens in a new window
An authoritative source of global and national business reporting. Coverage includes U.S. and international news, politics, arts, culture, lifestyle, sports, health and more.
Economist This link opens in a new window
The Economist is a weekly international news and business publication, offering clear reporting, commentary, and analysis on world current affairs, business, finance, science and technology, culture, society, media and the arts. Elizabethtown College students, faculty, and staff can receive online access via a subscription paid for by the High Library.

Once you have registered, you can then access economist.com from any location, on or off campus.
LNP Lancaster Online This link opens in a new window
Elizabethtown College students, faculty, and staff can receive access to the LNP Lancaster Online newspaper through its web site via a subscription paid for by the High Library. Access includes current and recent articles and full page images. Also includes searchable, full-text archives dating back to 1797.

Once you have registered, you can access https://lancasteronline.com from any location, on or off campus.

Which newspapers do we have?

Curious if we have access to a specific newspaper in the High Library or in one of our databases? Search for the title in JournalFinder.

You can also browse the latest print issues of local and national newspapers on Level 2 of the High Library.

News Databases

US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. & international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Includes global information on topics related to business, economics, education, government, health, international studies, politics, science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more.

Newspaper Map
Use a map interface to browse local newspapers from around the world.

General Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly business database that includes case studies, company profiles, country reports, financial data, market research reports, journal articles, and trade magazines. Coverage: 1886-present.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database of over 10,000 academic journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and books. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study including the humanities, sciences and social sciences, education, arts, literature, and more.
(replaces Academic Search Complete)
QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch is a discovery tool that retrieves books, articles, media and more found in the High Library Catalog, databases, and digital collections. Use the facets on the left side of the results screen to narrow your search by publication type, language, date, topic and more.

Research Help

Looking for additional help getting started with your research?

Check out our guide to Getting Started for help with:

The Research Process
Search Strategy & Techniques
Citation
Evaluating Sources
Finding Specific Types of Information
Writing Assistance

or Ask a Librarian!

Email: ask@etown.libanswers.com

Text: 717-759-9178

Call: 717-361-1461

Chat with a Librarian

Schedule an Appointment