Skip to main content
site header image

Modern Languages: A Research Guide

High Library Information

QuickSearch

Library Catalog

Journal Finder

Interlibrary Loan

Ask Us:

Email

Text: 717-759-9178

Call: 717-361-1461

Chat with a Librarian

Reference Hours:

8:30 am - 5 pm    Mon-Fri

6 pm - 9 pm    Mon-Thurs

*Break and Summer Hours Vary

Reference Hours

Monday: 8:30 - 5:00 & 6:00 - 9:00
Tuesday:8:30 - 5:00
& 6:00 - 9:00
Wednesday: 8:30 - 5:00
& 6:00 - 9:00
Thursday: 8:30 - 5:00
& 6:00 - 9:00
Friday: 8:30 - 5:00

* Hours vary during breaks.

Encyclopedias, etc.

Reference encyclopedias located on level 2 in the Reference book collection.

A Dictionary of Japanese History, Ref 952 G594d

The Anime Encyclopedia:A guide to Japanese Animation since 1917 (Revised ed.), 2006, Ref 791.4334 C626a

Countries and their Cultures, 4 vols. Ref 327.0905 C855

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture, 2002. Ref 952.0403 En56

Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia, 2 vols. 1993. Ref 952.003 J35

Modern Japan: An encyclopedia of history, culture, and nationalisn, 1998. Ref 952 M689

Modern Japanese Novelists: A Biographical Dictionary, 1993. Ref 895.634 L671m

 

Additional resources located on level 3 and 4.

Cambridge Guide to Asian Theatre, James Brandon, ed., 1993. 792.095 C178

Culture and Customs of Japan, 952 K15c

Japanese Dictionaries

A Dictionary of Japanese and English Idiomatic Equivalents, 1994.  Ref 495.6 D554, located in reference level 2

Kodansha's Romanized Japanese-English Dictionary, 1993.  Ref 495.6 V222k, located in reference level 2

The Original Modern Reader's Japanese-English Character Dictionary, 1995.  Ref 495.6 N424m 1995, located in reference level 2