Communications: A Research Guide

Provides access to articles in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates material produced by the National Communication Association along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric and discourse.

A scholarly business database that includes case studies, company profiles, country reports, financial data, market research reports, journal articles, and trade magazines. Coverage: 1886-present.

A full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.

This bibliography database directs researchers to more than 3 million citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, scholarly websites, editions, and translations published from the late 19^th century to the present. Covers a broad range of humanities subjects, including world languages and literature, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing studies, teaching of language, and history of publishing.

Statista provides statistical data from sources such as opinion research institutions, business organizations, scientific journals, trade publications and government agencies. Topics include business, politics, society, technology, education.

Provides reports of research and analysis on issues in the news. Coverage includes health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report focuses on a single issue and is written by a seasoned journalist.

Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Sources include peer-reviewed journals, book chapters, books, and dissertations.

Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific journal articles in psychology and the behavioral and social sciences from journals published by the American Psychological Association.

Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Complete with indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources; also includes searchable cited references.

Full text journals, books and other published sources, covering all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content. Includes abstracts and full text from journals, books and book reviews, art work and images, performances and reviews, literature and criticisms, poems and short stories, and conference proceedings.

A multi-disciplinary full-text database of over 10,000 academic journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and books. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study including the humanities, sciences and social sciences, education, arts, literature, and more.

Provides access to five of the country’s most respected national and regional newspapers offering researchers complete and timely coverage of local, national, and world events. Includes The New York Times (1980-Current),
The Washington Post (1987-Current), Los Angeles Times (1985-Current), Chicago Tribune (1985-Current), and The Wall Street Journal (1984-Current).

Provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. & international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Includes global information on topics related to business, economics, education, government, health, international studies, politics, science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content.

Provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more.

Provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.

The Economist is a weekly international news and business publication, offering clear reporting, commentary, and analysis on world current affairs, business, finance, science and technology, culture, society, media and the arts. Elizabethtown College students, faculty, and staff can receive online access via a subscription paid for by the High Library.

Once you have registered, you can then access economist.com from any location, on or off campus.

Elizabethtown College students, faculty, and staff can receive online access to the New York Times through its web site via a subscription paid for by the High Library.

Once you have registered, you can then access http://www.nytimes.com from any location, on or off campus.

Elizabethtown College students, faculty, and staff can receive online access to the Wall Street Journal through its web site via a subscription paid for by the High Library.

Once you have registered, you can access https://www.wsj.com/ from any location, on or off campus.

The High Library offers faculty, students, and staff unlimited digital access to The Washington Post. Be sure to use the link found here in our A to Z list for access on or off-campus. Please note that you will not see any High Library branding, and ads and offers for personal subscriptions will still be visible.

NEW: You can now create an individual account to view the Washington Post online and utilize their app. Follow the instructions on the Digital Newspapers guide to create your account. Please note, you can still access the Washington Post online, on or off-campus by using the link above with no registration required.

Elizabethtown College students, faculty, and staff can receive access to the LNP Lancaster Online newspaper through its web site via a subscription paid for by the High Library. Access includes current and recent articles and full page images. Also includes searchable, full-text archives dating back to 1797.

Once you have registered, you can access https://lancasteronline.com from any location, on or off campus.

Explore Harrisburg history through local news, events and people with Patriot-News Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.

A digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles dating back to the NY Times' origin. Every issue includes the complete paper cover-to-cover, with full-page and individual article images are easily downloadable in PDF format. Coverage: 1851-2013; with Index 1851-1993.

First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.

An authoritative source of global and national business reporting. Historical coverage includes more than 100 years of The Wall Street Journal’s accurate reporting, exclusive analysis, editorials, and opinions. In addition to the printed stories, researchers also can study the charts, stock tables, graphics, and illustrations featured in the publication.

Provides searchable full-text and page images of this historical newspaper with easily searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events from its founding in 1877.

Digital archive of the The Baltimore Sun. Includes reporting on pivotal issues and events of the 19th and early 20th centuries: immigration, the slave trade, commerce, the Civil War, Washington D.C. politics (The Baltimore Sun began publishing 40 years before the Washington Post), Americana, and literature.

Digital archive of the Christian Science Monitor. Includes secular, balanced coverage of international news and events. For more than 100 years, its staff writers and correspondents around the world have reported on wars, scientific discoveries, human rights abuses, political campaigns, the arts, the environment, and people trying to make a positive difference.

This collection provides access to a collection of 400 US newspapers from the 19th century. Includes full-text content and images from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the United States. Major newspapers stand alongside those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women’s rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and other select groups.

One of the longest surviving newspapers in the United States; known for its reporting of breaking news in the city, country, and around the world.

Nearly as old as the United States, this paper is today the largest daily newspaper serving metropolitan Pittsburgh. Offers valuable regional perspectives on international, national and local news.