Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

Physician Assistant: A Research Guide

High Library QuickSearch


QuickSearch is a discovery tool that retrieves books, articles, media and more found in the High Library Catalog, databases, and digital collections. Use the facets on the left side of the results screen to narrow your search by publication type, language, date, topic and more.

PubMed Help

PubMed Help

MEDLINE is a curated collection of citations from biomedical and life science journals. 

PubMed Central is a full-text repository for biomedical and life science articles. 

PubMed includes MEDLINE citations, PubMed Central content, NCBI bookshelf citations, pre-print citations, and scientific articles published within MEDLINE journals that aren't strictly medical.

When you access PubMed via High Library's customized database link (https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/?otool=pahelizaclib), you will see a ViewIt@Etown icon in your search results. This will link you back to the High Library for full text access, if we have it available. Alternately, you can customize your MyNCBI account to display the ViewIt@Etown icon. More information can be found in the library's FAQ.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Medical Databases

Medical Databases

PubMed Medical Databases

Clinical Resources

General Databases

General Databases

Discipline-Specific Databases

Psychology & Sociology Databases

Sports & Nutrition

Education Databases

(These can be very useful for pediatric topics.)

Locate journals beyond E-town

Hershey Medical Center Journals List
Click on appropriate letter of the alphabet under new improved journal list. Type in the name of the journal after "Find:". Travel to the Hershey Medical Center to make a copy of the article.

How do I get the article?

Use Journal Finder to see which journals you can get. Some titles are within the High Library itself (in print, microfiche, or microfilm), others are available electronically in various databases. If the journal is held, check to see if the dates you need are available. This is a powerful gateway to about 33,000 titles!

If the periodical you want is in microfilm or microfiche, you can order copies of the articles online by using  ILLiad. Click on Request an Article and fill out the form. You will receive an email with a link when the article is available, usually within 24-48 hours (M-F).

Articles that are not available either in the library or in library databases can be ordered on interlibrary loan, through ILLiad. ILL can take anywhere from 3-5 business days, on average.