Dr. Donald F. Durnbaugh (1927-2005) was the nation's preeminent Brethren scholar and an expert on a number of related Anabaptist groups. His extensive research files are housed in the Hess Archives, and while his papers have not been formerly processed, a detailed inventory is available and linked below. The collection contains a number of files on communal societies that can be accessed by making an appointment with Rachel.
The Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online provides reliable, freely-available English-language information on Anabaptist-related congregations, denominations, conferences, institutions and significant individuals, as well as historical and theological topics. Secular subject articles from an Anabaptist perspective and full-text source documents are also included.
H-Pietism promotes the academic study of Pietism, broadly defined. They welcome all interested scholars studying Pietism as an early modern religious movement in Europe (particularly Germany) and North America, as well as the many churches and religious communities, worldwide, which are descended from the Pietist and evangelical movements of the eighteenth century.
The Mission of the Brethren Digital Archives is to digitize some or all of the periodicals produced from the beginning of publication to the year 2000 by each of the Brethren bodies who trace their origin to the baptism near Schwarzenau, Germany in 1708.
The Earl H. and Anita F. Hess Archives and Special Collections is located on Level 1 of the High Library. Our rich collections include the College Archives, materials related to the Church of the Brethren, and collections that support the work of the Young Center for Anabaptist and Pietist Studies.