Research Guides: Anabaptist and Pietist Studies: A Research Guide: Home

Welcome

Sisters' House and Saal, Ephrata Cloister. The Photograph is from a glass plate negative taken by J. G. Francis, ca. 1900, and it is part of Elizabethtown College's Church of the Brethren photograph collection.

With links to a variety of resources just for your discipline, this guide is a great place to start your research! Remember that these are only some of the sources that may be useful to you. Please contact me for help with any of your research, grover@etown.edu or x1506.

Key Resources

Databases

ATLAReligion This link opens in a new window
An essential resource for religious and theological studies, providing bibliographic records covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history and religion in social issues. Includes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion,
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Complete with indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources; also includes searchable cited references.

Web Links

Amish Studies
Amish Studies is an academic website developed by the Young Center for Anabaptist and Pietist Studies at Elizabethtown College to provide reliable information on Amish life and culture.
Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online
The Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online provides reliable, freely-available English-language information on Anabaptist-related congregations, denominations, conferences, institutions and significant individuals, as well as historical and theological topics. Secular subject articles from an Anabaptist perspective and full-text source documents are also included.
H-Pietism
H-Pietism promotes the academic study of Pietism, broadly defined. They welcome all interested scholars studying Pietism as an early modern religious movement in Europe (particularly Germany) and North America, as well as the many churches and religious communities, worldwide, which are descended from the Pietist and evangelical movements of the eighteenth century.
Hess Archives and Special Collections
The Earl H. and Anita F. Hess Archives and Special Collections is located on Level 1 of the High Library. Our rich collections include the College Archives, materials related to the Church of the Brethren, and collections that support the work of the Young Center for Anabaptist and Pietist Studies.

Anabaptist and Pietist Studies: A Research Guide

Archivist

High Library Information

Welcome

Key Resources

High Library QuickSearch