HI 340: The Idea of Race in Modern Europe

Explore over 50 million artworks, artifacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe.

The purpose of EHPS is to provide an easily searchable index of scholarly digital repositories that contain primary sources for the history of Europe. As the number of digital archives on the internet continues to grow, finding and selecting digital repositories becomes increasingly difficult. EHPS strives to fill that gap by listing the most important collections of digital primary sources for the history of Europe, either as a whole or for single countries.

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

British newspapers dating back to the the 1700s.

French newspapers organized by themes, regions, and subjects.

Propaganda was central to Nazi Germany and the German Democratic Republic. The German Propaganda Archive includes both propaganda itself and material produced for the guidance of propagandists. The goal is to help people understand the two great totalitarian systems of the twentieth century by giving them access to the primary material.

The KITLV Digital Media Library is a collection of more than 190,000 digitised photographs, prints, drawings, maps, pamphlets, publications and songs particulary from Indonesia, the Dutch Indies, Suriname and the Caribbean. Additionally there are images of migrants from these areas who resided temporarily or resettled in the Netherlands.

The Federal Archives keeps approx. 11 million still pictures, aerial photographs and posters from modern German history. First photographs date from the 1860s.