Research Guides: EN 285: Business Writing: Home

Crisis Management Case Study Resources

Journal Articles & Business Information

Business Source Complete
A scholarly business database that includes journal articles and trade magazines, as well as case studies, company profiles, and financial data. Look for the company/organization field on the advanced search screen. Also, look for the top blue menu where there are links to the Company Information database and Company Profiles (under "more").
Communication Source
Provides access to articles in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates material produced by the National Communication Association along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, speech pathology, rhetoric and discourse.

Industry Information

Statista
Statista has company profiles that contain statistics, trends, and facts, as well as public opinion survey results for major companies. Any result labeled "topic" (red) or "dossier" (orange) will contain multiple facets of information that you can explore either on that page or within a downloadable report.
IBISworld

Features thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information which provides valuable insights into America's 700+ industries. Includes information on industry performance, outlooks, products and markets, operating conditions and risk ratings. Many thanks to the The High Center for funding this subscription!

Financial Information

Mergent Intellect
Information about U.S. and international businesses that include including company profiles, industry overviews, forecasts, trends, income & balance sheet financials, and industry ratios.
Valueline Investment Survey (access limited to 5 simultaneous users)
If there was a major change in a company’s value or earnings due to a crisis in the last two years, it would be easy to spot in the ValueLine report.

Newspaper Databases

News & Newspapers

Try using the date filters in these databases to narrow your search down by month. You can then sort the results by date, which will allow you to see a news story as it unfolded.

Regional Business News
Provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
US Major Dailies
Provides access to five of the country’s most respected national and regional newspapers offering researchers complete and timely coverage of local, national, and world events. Includes The New York Times (1980-Current),
The Washington Post (1987-Current), Los Angeles Times (1985-Current), Chicago Tribune (1985-Current), and The Wall Street Journal (1984-Current).
Access World News Research Collection
Provides full-text information and perspectives from U.S. & international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Includes global information on topics related to business, economics, education, government, health, international studies, politics, science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content.
Newspaper Source
Provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more.
Wall Street Journal Digital Access
Access the Wall Street Journal directly with a free subscription.
This link will also take you to the other subscription newspaper options.

Negative News

If you aren't sure what to look for, try adding negative keywords to your search. Words such as "boycott", “arrest”, or “protest”. You can also try words like "impact" or "public opinion".

Library Homepage | Quick Search

ask@etown.libanswers.com | Text: 717-759-9178 | Call: 717-361-1461 | Chat with a Librarian | Schedule an Appointment