Research Guides: PS 101: Foundations of American Government: Scholarly (and More Government) Resources

Subject Databases

Scholarly Journal Articles and Government Documents

Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 2,000 journals, and full-text articles for 500 top-ranked scholarly journals. Also includes reference works and professional conference papers. Coverage includes law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and the US Congressional Serial Set and more than 2,600 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. This HeinOnline Academic database package includes, among other things, special collections on Criminal Justice, History, Foreign Relations, Religion and the Law and Women and the Law. This database trial will expire May 2019.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes indexing for over 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present, citations and links to books and media reviews, and coverage for some titles back to the 19th and early 20th centuries.

Reports

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides reports of research and analysis on issues in the news. Coverage includes health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report focuses on a single issue and is written by a seasoned journalist.

Congressional Research Services Reports
These expert reports are created as briefings for Congress and cover a wide range of policy issues.

Statistics and Data

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistical data from sources such as opinion research institutions, business organizations, scientific journals, trade publications and government agencies. Topics include business, politics, society, technology, education.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is a data visualization and mapping tool which provides easy access to current and historical demographic information from the U.S. Decennial Census, American Community Survey (ACS), County Business Patterns, and more. Users can create maps and reports in order to visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history.

U.S. Census Bureau
The official website for the census. Find census data, as well as infographics and maps.
Comparative Agendas Project
CAP enables scholars, students, policy-makers and the media to investigate trends in policy-making across time and between countries. This link is to the United States project. Select other countries from the menu on the right side of the page.

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
The ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) database has over 9,000 datasets available spanning various social science disciplines and topics. The datasets in ICPSR are primarily quantitative, but it also includes some qualitative datasets.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database of over 10,000 academic journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and books. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study including the humanities, sciences and social sciences, education, arts, literature, and more.
(replaces Academic Search Complete)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary archive of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics. JSTOR also contains a large collection of scholarly ebooks from academic publishers.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference database that provides access to a large number of biographical sources, atlases, and encyclopedias covering the arts, business, economics, history, literature, science, technology, religion, philosophy, politics, psychology, geography, country studies, and more.

PS 101: Foundations of American Government

In-Class Activity

Encyclopedia

Subject Databases

Scholarly Journal Articles and Government Documents

Reports

Statistics and Data

Interdisciplinary Databases