Research Guides: PS 101: Foundations of American Government: Primary Government Sources

Government Documents

GovInfo
From the GPO, GovInfo provides free public access to more than a million official publications from all three branches of the federal government.
USA.gov
The U.S. government's official web portal. Search across every federal, state, and local government website, or browse by topic of interest.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
A comprehensive, searchable index of documents from the U.S. government since 1976, and select documents since the late 1800s, from the GPO. Each record will include either the full text or access information. Use also GovInfo to search only what is available in full text.
Resource Directory
A directory of resources for government documents, compiled by the GPO.
National Archives
Useful resource for finding more historical government documents.

HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and the US Congressional Serial Set and more than 2,600 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. This HeinOnline Academic database package includes, among other things, special collections on Criminal Justice, History, Foreign Relations, Religion and the Law and Women and the Law. This database trial will expire May 2019.

The Constitution & Constitution Annotated
The Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation ("Constitution Annotated" or "CONAN") provides a legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution based on a comprehensive review of Supreme Court case law and, where relevant, historical practices that have defined the text of the Constitution. This regularly updated resource is written in "plain English" and useful for a wide audience: from constitutional scholars to those just beginning to learn about the nation's most important legal document.
HeinOnline: US Constitution
HeinOnline's portal to research on the constitution.

Congress.gov
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site, which is compiled by the Library of Congress, provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information.
Senate
Official website of the U.S. Senate.
House of Representatives
Official website of the U.S. House of Representatives.
White House Press Office
The White House Press Office posts presidential actions and legislation signed/pending/vetoed by the president. Also look here for speeches and statements.
Supreme Court
Contains documents from the Supreme Court. Visit www.uscourts.gov for information on federal courts.

Federal Register
Daily journal of the U.S. government.
Active Legislation
Summary of Bills currently active in Congress.
Docs.House.gov
Documents from the U.S. House of Representatives, including legislation under consideration and committee documents.
Regulations.gov
Access and comment on proposed regulations from the federal government, including Proposed Rules, Rules, as well as Notices from the Federal Register. Public submissions and supporting materials.
RegInfo.gov
From the Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs, RegInfo provides information on regulations under review.