Research Guides: Information Literacy at Elizabethtown College: Library Resources Directory

The following library resources might be useful to your students.

These links can be used in Canvas. You may also request a customized research guide for your class.

Jump to:

Citation

Citation Guide
Citation examples and resources for citing in APA, MLA, and Chicago Style.

APA Citation

APA Guide
Examples and resources for APA citation.

APA Citation Quick Guide
High Library's short printable guide to citing in APA (7th edition).

MLA Citation

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes the full-text of the 9th edition of the Handbook. Features an easy-to-search interface, cross-linking of related material, and a split view that lets students see illustrations while reading corresponding content.

MLA Guide
Examples and resources for MLA citation.

MLA Citation Quick Guide
High Library's short printable guide to citing in MLA (9th edition).

Chicago Citation

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Includes the online Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed. (August 2017), the 16th ed. (2010), Chicago Style Q & A, Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide, and related resources to assist in manuscript preparation. The Chicago Manual of Style Online presents two basic documentation systems, the humanities style (notes and bibliography) and the author-date system. The humanities style is preferred by many in literature, history, and the arts. The author-date system is more common in the sciences and social sciences.

Chicago Guide
Examples and resources for Chicago citation.

Chicago Citation Quick Guide
High Library's short printable guide to using Chicago's notes and bibliography system (17th edition).

Sources

Incorporating Sources

Paraphrasing & Avoiding Plagiarism
Synthesis
Source Evaluation
Scholarly, Popular, and Trade Journals
This chart can help you differentiate between types of publications.

Library Tutorials

Tutorials

Subject Guides
Explore a research guide highlighting subject specific resources.
Library Tutorial Videos
Getting Started - Research Steps
This guide will help you explore the resources available to you through the high library.

Services

The library offers the following services for students (and faculty too!):

Group Study Rooms (Some are reservable.)
Lockers
Laptop and iPad Loans
One Button Studio for Recording Videos
Coffee Kiosk with Starbucks

Books

Book Hold Requests and Pickups
Course Reserves
eBooks
Interlibrary Loan
Faculty Purchase Requests
Information on Open Educational Resources (OER)

Reference Help

Weekend Remote Reference Coverage (email: )
Research Appointments (Request Form)
Contacting a librarian for reference/research help (on weekdays, too, in addition to the weekend coverage)

Syllabus Statement

The following statement on using the library services can be used in your syllabi:

Research Assistance

The High Library (www.etown.edu/library) offers personalized assistance to connect you with the resources you need for your research. Librarians can help with all levels of questions, from starting research to tracking down journal articles and formatting citations. You are encouraged to make use of the library’s services.

Librarians are available seven days a week through email (ask@etown.libanswers.com) and text messaging (717-759-9178). For real-time assistance, drop in to visit the reference desk, call (717-361-1461), or web chat Monday-Friday 8:30 am - 5 pm and Monday-Thursday 6 - 9 pm. Appointments are not necessary, but can be scheduled at https://etown.libwizard.com/f/studentappointment