Research Guides: HE 210: Global Health Care Systems: Home

Welcome!

With links to a variety of resources just for your course, this guide is a great place to start your research! Remember that these are only some of the sources that may be useful to you. Have a question? Feel free to use the contact information in the sidebar!

Helpful Databases

Health Databases

Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Research literature relevant to nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Includes nursing journals, publications from and the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and primary journals from allied health disciplines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Covers all areas of nursing and allied health sciences with access to full-text, scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals.

Focused Databases

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialities such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Includes scholarly and popular periodicals, monographs, education-related conference papers, book reviews and more.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts covering the full spectrum of gender-related scholarship. It offers over a million records from scholarly and popular publications, including journals, books, conference papers and theses. Subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism and gender identity.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 2,000 journals, and full-text articles for 500 top-ranked scholarly journals. Also includes reference works and professional conference papers. Coverage includes law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Sources include peer-reviewed journals, book chapters, books, and dissertations.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Complete with indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources; also includes searchable cited references.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus is an authoritative bibliographic database that provides comprehensive coverage of physical activity and nutrition topics such as fitness, health, and sport studies. Includes academic journals, monographs, magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.

General Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database of over 10,000 academic journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and books. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study including the humanities, sciences and social sciences, education, arts, literature, and more.
(replaces Academic Search Complete)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary archive of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics. JSTOR also contains a large collection of scholarly ebooks from academic publishers.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference database that provides access to a large number of biographical sources, atlases, and encyclopedias covering the arts, business, economics, history, literature, science, technology, religion, philosophy, politics, psychology, geography, country studies, and more.

Useful Websites

World Health Organization
The United Nation's agency focusing on global public health.
United Nations Health
An overview of global health issues from the United Nations.
CIA World Factbook
Comprehensive facts on countries compiled by the CIA.
Nation Guides from Law Online
The Guide to Law Online, prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information for international countries.
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices
Annual reports filed by country. Compiled by the Department of State's Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor.
USA.gov
The U.S. government's official web portal. Search across every federal, state, and local government website, or browse by topic of interest.