Skip to Main Content
site header image

Friends of High Library


The resources of the High Library are available for use by visitors in the building.  The collection includes general circulating materials, reference items, current and archival periodicals, databases, microforms, CDs, videos and DVDs.  The library also houses Church of the Brethren and Elizabethtown College’s archives.

All of the library’s collections can be used by guests within the library. If you would like to take library materials out of the library, we invite you to become a Friend of the High Library, which grants you the ability to check out materials from the library's main collection, DVDs, CDs, and juvenile collection. Becoming a Friend of the Library costs $20. If you have a library card from Elizabethtown Public Library, or another public library within Lancaster County, then you can become a Friend of the Library for free.

To get a membership card, present your current driver’s license at the library circulation desk, along with cash or check (payable to ‘Elizabethtown College’).   The membership will begin immediately and continues for one year from date of issue.  Cards can be issued to high school students who are 16 and older.

Guests and Friends of the High Library have limited access to the library computers but can access the College’s guest wifi. Information on connecting to the wireless network is available at the circulation desk. 

 

Borrowing Policy for Friends of Library

Circulating materials are checked out at the Library's circulation desk using your membership card

Books, records, CDs and scores can be borrowed for 60 days.

Videos and DVDs have a loan period of two weeks.

A maximum of eight items can be checked out at a time.

Items may not be renewed.

Overdue fines on all materials are $0.50 per day. 

Unpaid fines will result in a suspension of borrowing privileges.

 

Computer & Wireless Access for Friends of the Library

Computer Use

  • There is 1 computer workstation available to members of the public to support learning and academic research through the library's online collections and databases
  • To access the computer, guests must register for a log-in at the Circulation Desk
  • Registering for a log-in requires a valid photo ID
  • Guest log-ins expire after 30 days

Wireless Networks

  • Guests may register their own devices on the guest wireless network
  • Registered devices can access the network for 72 hours
  • Database resources are available when logged onto the guest wireless network.

Printing & Photocopying for Friends of the Library

Printing & Photocopying

  • Printing & Photocopying cost $0.10 per page, payable at the Circulation Desk
  • Scanning is free.
  • Printing is available from the public workstation only
  • To access the photocopier, please see a Library Staff member

Programs and Services

Your Friends of the High Library (FOHL) membership has supported programs and services through the library in the following ways:
 

  • Provided a gift for incoming first year students in the Fall semester.  Previous years' gifts include pens and magnets.
  • Benefited the community by bringing films and speakers to campus.
  • Lectures and book readings by the College's professors were held in the library and sponsored by Friends of the Library.