Research Guides: ED 345/346: Finding ELA Articles: Home

Resources for Finding ELA Articles

With links to a variety of resources just for your course, this guide is a great place to start your research! Remember that these are only some of the sources that may be useful to you. Have a question? Feel free to use the contact information in the sidebar!

Chistchurch City Libraries "Sparky Reading"

Browse Recent ELA Journals

You can browse recent journal issues for articles that interest you. You can also search within these journals.

On the pages linked below, select either the date range that is linked next to "Full Text" or a year from the right side bar to browse a list of articles in that journal. You can narrow the date range on the results page.

You can also browse articles within the PDF viewer. The PDF of each article will have an interactive table of contents in the left side bar that contains all of the articles in the same journal issue.

English Education
[All Grades] English Education is the journal of English Language Arts Teacher Educators (ELATE). The journal serves teachers who are engaged in the preparation, support, and continuing education of teachers of English language arts/literacy at all levels of instruction.
Language Arts
[Pre-K - 8] Language Arts provides a forum for discussions on all aspects of language arts learning and teaching, primarily as they relate to children in pre-kindergarten through the eighth grade. Issues discuss both theory and classroom practice, highlight current research, and review children’s and young adolescent literature, as well as classroom and professional materials of interest to language arts educators.
more...less...
Available in print in the library through Nov 2018.
Voices from the Middle
[Middle Grades] Voices from the Middle publishes original contributions by middle level teachers, students, teacher educators, and researchers in response to specific themes that focus on our discipline, our teaching, and our students. Voices offers middle level teachers innovative and practical ideas for classroom use that are rooted in current research; this is a journal for teachers by teachers.
English Journal
[Middle - Secondary] English Journal is NCTE’s journal of ideas for English language arts teachers in junior and senior high schools and middle schools. It presents information on the teaching of writing and reading, literature, and language, and includes information on how teachers are applying practices, research, and multimodal literacies in their classrooms.

Search Databases

Try searching within the following databases:

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialities such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Includes scholarly and popular periodicals, monographs, education-related conference papers, book reviews and more.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
An authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. It features journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Also includes books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 220 peer-reviewed of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This bibliography database directs researchers to more than 3 million citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, scholarly websites, editions, and translations published from the late 19^th century to the present. Covers a broad range of humanities subjects, including world languages and literature, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing studies, teaching of language, and history of publishing.
(replaces MLA International Bibliography)

Narrow Your Search With Subjects

Searching by subject guarantees that your articles will actually be about ELA and don't just pick it up as a keyword. The method of searching by subject is the same in each of the education databases, although the exact terms are slightly different in each one.

Method

1. In one of the search boxes type the subject term.

2. Use the drop down menu to select "SU Subject" OR "SU Descriptors" OR "SU Subject Terms"

3. Enter any additional keywords into the other search boxes. (ie: elementary or digital)

Terms

Education Source Subjects

"English language education"

"Language Arts"

ERIC Descriptors

"Language Arts"

"English Curriculum"

"English Instruction"

Teacher Reference Center Subject Terms

"LANGUAGE arts"

"ENGLISH language education"

Date

Don't forget to use the filter in the left sidebar to limit your results by the year they were published!

ED 345/346: Finding ELA Articles

High Library Information

Your Librarian