Research Guides: EN 150: Advanced Writing: Find articles

Background Information

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides reports of research and analysis on issues in the news. Coverage includes health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report focuses on a single issue and is written by a seasoned journalist.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An excellent reference resource for background information to help with your search.

Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database of over 10,000 academic journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and books. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study including the humanities, sciences and social sciences, education, arts, literature, and more.
(replaces Academic Search Complete)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary archive of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics. JSTOR also contains a large collection of scholarly ebooks from academic publishers.

New York Times
Full text, full page, and article-level images (1851+)

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Complete with indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources; also includes searchable cited references.

Activity 2 - Article Search

Find one scholarly article and one newspaper article from a database or online source. Then answer the following questions about each resource:

How did you find this resource (what database, search engine, catalog, etc., and what keywords did you use)?
How would you evaluate this resource/how do you know it’s reliable? (You can use the CRAAP test.)
How will this resource help you write your research paper (or how do you know it's relevant to your research project)?

You will not be expected to finish this assignment during this session. But please post a link to one resource you've found in this Google Doc. Be ready to answer how you found the resource and why you chose it since we will discuss some of your resources in class.