Research Guides: MU 205: World Music: Find Background Info

Catalog Search

Go directly to the High Library Catalog or search here:

Keyword searches in Words or phrase will retrieve items containing the words together in any one field. This is the broadest type of search, with the highest number of results and the largest number of irrelevant items.

Use AND between search terms to find items with those words in several different labeled fields such as subject and title.

Examples: China AND music; India AND music; Africa AND music; Egypt AND music. Also try replacing "music" with "ethnomusicology."

MU 205 Haas In-Class Assignment

You will use the Word doc below to complete in-class exploration of the resources in this guide. Some of your answers you will share in the Google Sheet. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask.

MU 205 Library Session Assignment

Online Reference Resources

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of core reference titles in music which focus on current scholarship in areas of music research including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, pedagogy, dance, and technology.

Reference Books in the Library

Ethnomusicology: A Guide to Research by Jennifer Post
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780203495629
Publication Date: 2004-03-01
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Call Number: Reference 780.9 G233 v. 1-10
ISBN: 0824060350
Includes essays, images and audio examples. Essays include regional overviews, surveys of musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Photographs depict musicians, musical instruments, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies.
The Garland Handbook of African Music by Ruth Stone (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780203927878
Publication Date: 2010-04-02
Music Around the World: A Global Encyclopedia by Andrew R. Martin; Matthew Mihalka
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781610694988
Publication Date: 2020-09-08
With topics ranging from non-Western instruments to distinctive rhythms of music of various countries, this one-stop resource on global music also promotes cultural appreciation of other countries and cultural groups from around the globe and provides multidisciplinary perspectives. The volumes cover all world regions, including the Americas, Europe, Africa and the Middle East, and Asia and the Pacific, promoting a geographic understanding and appreciation of global music.
The Oxford Encyclopaedia of the Music of India
Call Number: Reference 780.954 Ox98 v.1-3
Consists of 5,000 entries, spanning musical genres from classical to film, and covering all forms of dance, across all regions of India.
The Oxford Handbook of Applied Ethnomusicology by Svanibor Pettan (Editor); Jeff Todd Titon (Editor)
Call Number: 780.89 Ox98
ISBN: 9780199351701
Publication Date: 2015-07-29
The Oxford Handbook of Children's Musical Cultures by Patricia Shehan Campbell (Editor); Trevor Wiggins (Editor)
Call Number: 780.83 Ox98
ISBN: 9780199737635
Publication Date: 2013-01-16
The Oxford Handbook of Music and Disability Studies by Blake Howe (Editor); Stephanie Jensen-Moulton (Editor); Neil Lerner (Editor); Joseph Straus (Editor)
Call Number: 780.87 Ox98
ISBN: 9780199331444
Publication Date: 2015-11-12
World Music: A Global Journey
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 020389216X
Presents a systematic study of varied traditions in a non-technical language accessible to any enthusiast of world music and culture.