Research Guides: FYS Organic Architecture and Frank Lloyd Wright: Write and Cite

Online MLA Citation Examples

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes the full-text of the 9th edition of the Handbook. Features an easy-to-search interface, cross-linking of related material, and a split view that lets students see illustrations while reading corresponding content.

MLA's Style Center
This website from the Modern Language Association includes writing and formatting tips that fit the most recent edition of academic writing rules in the MLA manual.
MLA Formatting and Style Guide
These examples are from OWL at Purdue.

Selected MLA Works Cited Examples

MLA Handbook (9th Edition)

Book with one author

Author's name: Last Name, First Name. Book Title (italicized). Publisher, year.

Sparks, Nicholas. The Best of Me. Grand Central Publishing, 2011.

Article from a database (e.g. Academic Search Ultimate) - For three or more authors

Author's Name(s): Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Journal Title (italicized), volume, issue, month year, page numbers. name of database (italicized), DOI (if none can be found use a permalink or URL).

Segal, Scott, et al. "Plagiarism in Residency Application Essays." Annals of Internal Medicine, vol. 153, no. 2, July 2010, pp. 112-120. MEDLINE Complete, https://doi.org/10.7326/0003-4819-153-2-201007200-00007.

Webpage

Author’s Last Name, First Name. “Page Title.” Name of Website, Publisher, Date, URL.

Howell, Elizabeth. “Exoplanets: Worlds Beyond Our Solar System.” Space.com, 30 Mar. 2018, www.space.com/17738-exoplanets.html.

MLA Citation Quick Guide
High Library's short printable guide to citing in MLA (9th edition).

MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes the full-text of the 9th edition of the Handbook. Features an easy-to-search interface, cross-linking of related material, and a split view that lets students see illustrations while reading corresponding content.

Online APA Citation Examples

APA Style Online
The official APA Style website includes style guidelines, reference guidelines, and reference examples.
APA Style Blog
If you have a question about APA style, check the official APA Style Blog to see if it has already been answered.
APA Style at OWL
Guides and reference examples from the OWL at Purdue.

Selected APA References Examples

APA Manual (7th Edition)

Print Book

Author's Last Name, Initials. (Year). Book title. Publisher.

Roach, M. (2010). Packing for Mars: The curious science of life in the void. W. W. Norton.

Journal Article

Author’s Last Name, Initials. (Year). Article title. Journal Title, volume(issue), page-range. URL

Okon, E., & Sudarsky, D. (2018). Losing stuff down a black hole. Foundations of Physics, 48(4), 411-428. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10701-018-0154-3

Webpage

Author’s Last Name, Initials. (Year, Month Day). Page title. Name of Website. URL

Howell, E. (2018, March 30). Exoplanets: Worlds beyond our solar system. Space.com. https://www.space.com/17738-exoplanets.html

APA Citation Quick Guide
High Library's short printable guide to citing in APA (7th edition).