Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image Wikimedia Commons, Public Domain
Costume Design and History Web Sites
The Costume Institute
Located at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, provides art history timeline and collections databases.
Elizabethan Costume Page
The Costume Page
Site maintained by Julie Zetterberg Sardo, Seattle, Washington, USA.
A comprehensive and reliable site for everything costuming.
The Commons on Flickr was launched as a collaboration with the Library of Congress and now includes digital contributions from a number of museums and historical agencies with the aims of showing "hidden treasures in the world's public photography archives," Currently users can only search through the simple search field. Several institutions have photographic 'sets' such as "cowgirls," "bathing beauties" and "hats" which feature fashion-related images.
The Kyoto Fashion Institute
The KCI holds a collection of clothing from the 18th through the 20th century with an emphasis on Western women's clothing. Follow the Digital Archive to the KCI Database to view approximately 200 objects in the collection through an interactive clothing silhouette timeline. Go to the exhibit links to find additional online components to a few exhibits. Available in Japanese and English.
, Criminal Justice
, Fine & Performing Arts
, First-Year Seminar
, Modern Languages
, Political Science
, Religious Studies