Research Guides: Engineering and Physics: A Research Guide: Home

Not sure where to start? The Library Catalog and QuickSearch will both cover a broad range of physical and electronic resources held by the Library. QuickSearch search results will even include some of our online journal article content. For additional or specialized information, check our list of databases below. See the menu to the upper left for other commonly used resources.

If you are having trouble getting results or selecting the right resources, please see a librarian. We would be happy to help you.

Top Sources

AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Reference tool covering a broad range of engineering topics; includes engineering reference handbooks and dictionaries.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Provides resources covering a wide range of STEM topics including artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, chemical engineering, energy resources and robotics, as well as the business and social implications of new technologies.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of handbooks, data sets and reference sources in science, technology and engineering. Productivity tools include interactive charts, graphs, spreadsheets, and equation plotters. Helpers include an interactive periodical table, an Excel add-in, and a comprehensive unit converter.
QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch is a discovery tool that retrieves books, articles, media and more found in the High Library Catalog, databases, and digital collections. Use the facets on the left side of the results screen to narrow your search by publication type, language, date, topic and more.

All Engineering and Physics Databases

Engineering & Physics Databases

Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Provides resources covering a wide range of STEM topics including artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, chemical engineering, energy resources and robotics, as well as the business and social implications of new technologies.
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
Reference tool covering a broad range of engineering topics; includes engineering reference handbooks and dictionaries.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of handbooks, data sets and reference sources in science, technology and engineering. Productivity tools include interactive charts, graphs, spreadsheets, and equation plotters. Helpers include an interactive periodical table, an Excel add-in, and a comprehensive unit converter.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet offers access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Look for the "ViewIt@Etown" icon in the article details to view full-text or request via interlibrary loan. Produced by the American Mathematical Society.
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a large, multidisciplinary database that provides access to peer-reviewed, scholarly research in the following subject areas: Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social and Behavioral Sciences.

Related Discipline Databases

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
An authoritative resource that contains high-quality reference material covering all major scientific disciplines.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
A full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet offers access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Look for the "ViewIt@Etown" icon in the article details to view full-text or request via interlibrary loan. Produced by the American Mathematical Society.
Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing.
Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the Agricultural & Environmental Science Database, the Biological Science Database, and the Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database. It provides full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of published chemical research searchable by author name, research topic, substance identifier, chemical structure, or chemical reaction. (To register, click here. You must use your @etown.edu email address and you must be on campus to register). Access the legacy SciFinder platform.

General Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database of over 10,000 academic journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and books. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study including the humanities, sciences and social sciences, education, arts, literature, and more.
(replaces Academic Search Complete)
QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch is a discovery tool that retrieves books, articles, media and more found in the High Library Catalog, databases, and digital collections. Use the facets on the left side of the results screen to narrow your search by publication type, language, date, topic and more.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistical data from sources such as opinion research institutions, business organizations, scientific journals, trade publications and government agencies. Topics include business, politics, society, technology, education.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The WorldCat database contains more than 90 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Includes records for books, videos, journals, microfiche, websites, and much more. Check out the new WorldCat interface here.

Engineering and Physics: A Research Guide

High Library Information

Your Librarian

Top Sources

All Engineering and Physics Databases

Engineering & Physics Databases

Related Discipline Databases

General Databases

Database Tutorials

DataVis from AccessEngineering

Knovel Highlights