Find books and films - EN 261: Writing and Analyzing the Short Story - Fellinger

Documentary film databases

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 64,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. AVON includes documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, and original and raw footage.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand provides a comprehensive, curriculum-focused collection of high-quality, streaming videos from producers such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, A&E, History, ABCNews, BBC, NBC News, Shopware, Biography, National Geographic and more.

Biographical Videos

I Am Not Your Negro (DVD)
Call Number: I 04
This is a documentary film on James Baldwin. Please note that all DVD's are on Level 1

James Baldwin: The Price of A Ticket

Research Assignment - Literature Databases and Resources

Use the handout which will contain instructions for our in-class research exercise. As you follow the instructions for this assignment, you will post select answers to questions from your handout in the Google Sheet as instructed.

Databases for Books and Book Chapters

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A digital library from various scholarly and university presses that offers authoritative ebooks covering a wide range of subject areas.
EBSCOhost E-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
Ebook collection containing high-quality academic and popular titles from a broad range of subject and topic areas.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Includes encyclopedias and other specialized reference sources covering a wide range of subjects including history, literature, the arts, business, science, multicultural studies, religion, and more!
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary archive of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics. JSTOR also contains a large collection of scholarly ebooks from academic publishers.

High Library Catalog

Recommended Ebook Resources

The Cambridge Introduction to Edgar Allan Poe by Benjamin F. Fisher
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780521859677
Publication Date: 2008-09-11
Critical Insights - American Short Story by Michael Cocchiarale (Editor); Scott Emmert (General Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781619254251
Publication Date: 2015-04-10
Diverse in theme, style and cultural context, the American short story can take many forms. The only common theme is the short story's unique ability to captivate an audience. This volume discusses the origin and popularity of the short story. Original critical essays on a diverse collection of writers highlight Edgar Allen Poe, Herman Melville, Mark Twain, Ambrose Bierce, O. Henry, Kate Chopin and many others.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature by Jay Parini (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780195156539
Publication Date: 2004-01-29
This award-winning Encyclopedia surveys the vibrant terrain of American literature in 350 essays from leading scholars, encompassing the range and depth of American literary history from the 1600s to the present day. The Encyclopedia includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes.