Research Guides: Church of the Brethen China Mission: Books

E-Books

Two years in guerrilla relief : Howard Sollenberger’s diary, journals, letters and recollections, 1938-1940
The original diary is held by the Hess Archives.
Church of the Brethren China Relief by E. Joseph Wampler and D. Eugene Wampler (2002)
This compiled manuscript made available by Bridgewater College details work by Church of the Brethren missionaries and relief workers in China from 1918 to 1951. Missionaries and relief workers include Ernest M. Wampler, nurse Elizabeth Baker Wampler, Dr. Frederick Jacob Wampler, Rebecca Skeggs Wampler, Nettie Mabelle Senger, and Howard E. Sollenberger.
China, a challenge to the church : appeals from "The Church of the Brethren" in China (1919)
Copies are also available in the circulating collection and Hess Archives
Brethren in China by Frank H. Crumpacker (1937)
Copies are also available in the circulating collection, Hess Archives, and Young Center
Junior folks at mission study-- China : a symposium writen by missionaries in China by Emma Horning, Anna Seese, Grace Clapper, F. H. Crumpacker (1921)
Copies are also available in the Hess Archives
Progressivism and the Mission Field: Church of the Brethren Women Missionaries in Shanxi, China, 1908-1951 by Carol Longenecker (2007)
Academic thesis, Master of Arts (MA) Clemson University; Copy also available in the circulating collection

Books

A brief history of the Church of the Brethren in China
Call Number: Archives ; BV2595.C5 C5 1915

Publication Date: c. 1915
Behind barbed wire and high fences : Church of the Brethren missionaries trapped in Japanese concentration camp by Angeny, Helen Frances Buehl, 1914-
Call Number: D805.P6 A54 2012

ISBN: 1620060000

Publication Date: 2012
Missionary letters of Minnie Flory Bright by Bright, J. Calvin, compiler.; Bright, Minnie Flory
Call Number: BV3415 .B7 1973

Publication Date: 1973

Copies in both the circulating collection and the Hess Archives
Heritage and Christian community in Shouyang, Shanxi, China : a research report by Li, Ruoxia
Call Number: Archives ; BR1295.S56 L52 2009

Publication Date: 2009

Academic thesis, M.A.T.D.E. Wartburg Theological Seminary
The story of the Church of the Brethren in China 1932 to 1950 by Parker, Martha Neiderhiser
Call Number: Archives ; BX7819.C6 P37 2008

Publication Date: 2008
History of the UNRRA Brethren Service unit by Sollenberger, Howard.; Flory, Wendell, 1920-
Call Number: Young Center ; BV2595.C5 S6 1948

Publication Date: 1948
Seeking God's will for me : an autobiography by Wampler, Ernest M., 1885-1978.
Call Number: BX7843.W35 A3 1969

Publication Date: 1969

Copies in both the circulating collection and the Hess Archives
China suffers; or, My six years of work during the incident by Wampler, Ernest M., 1895-1978
Call Number: Archives ; DS777.53 .W315 1945

Publication Date: 1945
Seeing China at home by Wampler, Ernest M., 1895-1978
Call Number: Archives ; BV2595.C5 W35 1925

Publication Date: 1925

Academic thesis, B.D. Yale University
No greater love-- : centennial of Church of the Brethren mission in China, 1908-2008 by Wampler, Eugene, 1935-
Call Number: BV2595.C5 W36 2008

Publication Date: 2008

Copies in both the circulating collection and the Hess Archives