Are we there yet? Where are we going?
A database searches a predefined collection of content. Each database has its own unique collection. Before you start searching, you should consider which databases will be the most likely to include your topic. Use this step to select databases for your search.
Individually, go through both methods to browse for databases, starting with A-Z. Meet back up as a team for step 6.
There's a scratchpad in your workbook to keep notes.
You didn't think we'd let you use Google, did you?
1. Start on the library's homepage: etown.edu/library
2. Select the dark blue "Databases & Articles" button.
3. Use the "Subjects" drop down menu in the top center to select the subject closest to your project. Then, click Search.
4. Take note of how many databases are listed for this subject.
5. Find the databases labeled as Best Bets. Read their descriptions and jot down the name of one or two that sound likely to include your topic. If there aren't any that sound likely, try another subject.
Time to get a second opinion.
1. Go back to the library's homepage: etown.edu/library
2. Select the next dark blue button, "Research Guides."
3. Find the guide for your subject that's named: Subject: A Research Guide.
4. Your research guide will either have a list of databases on the first page, or in a tab labeled "Databases" or "Find Articles."
5. Look through the database list to see if there are any more databases that look like they will include your topic. Many of these lists include headings to help you quickly browse through the databases.
As a team, decide which database each team member will search. No two team members should be searching in the same database and all databases should be hosted by the library. If you are playing more than one character, you only need to search in one database.
Once your databases are delegated, move onto the next tab: Explore.