Reference database that provides access to a large number of biographical sources, atlases, and encyclopedias covering the arts, business, economics, history, literature, science, technology, religion, philosophy, politics, psychology, geography, country studies, and more.
This invaluable reference compiled by top scholars covers 8 centuries of the Christian church and addresses such topics as archaeology, art and architecture, biography, culture, doctrine, ecclesiology, geography, history, philosophy, and theology.
In about 550 A-to-Z entries, Encyclopedia of Islam explores the terms, concepts, personalities, historical events, and institutions that helped shape the history of this religion and the way it is practiced today. An informative introduction provides readers with an overview of Islam, and a chronology, a detailed bibliography complete the work.
Rich historical content is partnered with coverage of the issues, countries, and people that are important in todays world, allowing for an assessment of Islams influence on all areas of human activity throughout the Middle East, Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas
Judaism implies faith and beliefs, complex practices and a whole way of life. These are mirrored in this encyclopedia which includes hundreds of special articles covering subjects in analytical depth, as well as short biographies of the major figures in the story of Judaism. Issues of practical interest today are give special attention, such as the article MEDICAL ETHICS which relates to Abortion, Artificial insemination, Autopsies, Birth control, Euthanasia, Surrogate mother...
Offering a wealth of reliable information, The Oxford Guide to People & Places of the Bible provides more than 300 articles that cover everyone from Adam and Eve to Jesus Christ and everywhere from the Garden of Eden to Golgotha and Gethsemane.Readers will find fascinating, informative entries on virtually every major figure who walked across the biblical stage.
This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles. It emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
This reference work is an introduction in English to the living tradition of Christian thought. It focuses on the broad sweep of ideas rather than factual detail, surveying all traditions and centuries but concentrating more on the present than the past.