Skip to main content
site header image

Music 205 - World Musics

Web Resources

Center for Black Music Research
This Web site of the Center for Black Music Research at Columbia College, Chicago, offers some digitally archived resources that could be useful to students completing research on the music of Africa or the black diaspora.

Global Jukebox
Presents a variety of audio, visual, and written materials created by and around renowned ethnomusicologist Alan Lomax. Most of the items derive from the Alan Lomax Archive and its custodian, the Assoc. for Cultural Equity (ACE), an organization devoted to disseminating Lomax's recordings and other materials collected over several decades.

Music and Dance of Africa
African Studies page maintained by Columbia University Libraries; provides links to numerous academic and popular websites relating to African studies/culture.

Smithsonian Folkways
Includes liner notes and audio samples from all musical and spoken word recordings issued by Folkways and its affiliates. Site also includes complete audio for selected songs of more recent releases and short video presentations. You can access much of their recorded collection by going through our "Alexander Street Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries" database.

 

UCLA Ethnomusicology Archives

This online archive provides access to the university's collection of over 150,000 audio, video, print, and photographs from around the world that relate to the field of ethnomusicology.
 

Evaluating Web Sites

The good, the bad, and the ugly -- choosing the right websites.

Care must be taken in searching for information on the Internet. Unlike both the print resources and databases provided by the library, free Internet resources have not necessarily been published by reputable academic publishers. Anything can be posted on a website, and just because it is available online does not mean it is valid or authoritative.

However, this does not mean that you cannot find good resources on the Internet; the key to doing so is to carefully evaluate what you find on the web. Ask yourself these questions:

  • Who is the author of this material? Are the author's credentials listed?
  • What institution or organization sponsored the material?
  • When was the Web site created or last updated?
  • Where is the publisher located?  Does it exist in the physical world?
  • Why was the information published? 
  • Who is the intended audience?
  • Is the information provided objective or biased?
  • How does information provided by the site compare to other works, including print works?

For further information on Web evaluation, check out: