Research Guides: MU 205: World Music: Find Articles and Music

MU 205 Haas In-Class Assignment

You will use the Word doc below to complete in-class exploration of the resources in this guide. Some of your answers you will share in the Google Sheet. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask.

World Music - Handout

Music Databases

Music Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. Contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals.
Music Online: Classical Scores Library This link opens in a new window
This multi-volume resource contains over 51,000 titles and 1.3 million printable pages of the most important scores in classical music, ranging from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. More than 4,600 composers are included, from traditionally studied composers such as Mozart and Tchaikovsky to contemporary artists including Kaija Saariaho, Peter Maxwell Davies, and John Tavener. Users can access scores, zoom in to examine specific notations and tempo markings, and print scores for class or personal study.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sounds This link opens in a new window
As a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions, this collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
Naxos Music Library (access limited to 5 simultaneous users) This link opens in a new window
An online library of streaming music including classical, world, jazz, and folk recordings. Also includes biographical information, opera synopses and libretti, glossaries and pronunciation guides.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of core reference titles in music which focus on current scholarship in areas of music research including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, pedagogy, dance, and technology.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database of over 10,000 academic journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and books. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study including the humanities, sciences and social sciences, education, arts, literature, and more.
(replaces Academic Search Complete)
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text journals, books and other published sources, covering all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content. Includes abstracts and full text from journals, books and book reviews, art work and images, performances and reviews, literature and criticisms, poems and short stories, and conference proceedings.
(replaces Humanities International Complete)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary archive of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics. JSTOR also contains a large collection of scholarly ebooks from academic publishers.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project Muse is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Project MUSE is a trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and eBooks from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.