Skip to main content
site header image

Theatre: A Research Guide: General Reference Biographies

High Library Information

QuickSearch

Library Catalog

Journal Finder

Interlibrary Loan

Ask Us:

Email

Text: 717-759-9178

Call: 717-361-1461

Chat with a Librarian

Reference Hours:

8:30 am - 5 pm    Mon-Fri

6 pm - 9 pm    Mon-Thurs

*Break and Summer Hours Vary

Artists and Authors

Contemporary Artists Ref 709.2 C761 1996

The Dictionary of Art Ref 703 D554

Musicians

The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music Ref 780.3 G964 1995


The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians Ref 780.3 N532

Biographies: General Resources

Reference books:
American National Biography Ref 920.073 Am5122
Entries are alphabetical, but there are also indexes arranged by profession and state.

Dictionary of National Biography Ref 920.042 D554
This set covers all time periods of Great Britain.

Contemporary Dramatists, D. L. Kirkpatrick, ed., 1988  (Ref 822.9 V788c4)

Current Biography Ref 920 C936
Consult the annual and ten-year indexes in the back of each volume.

Biography Index Index Shelves.
Indexes biographical information found in articles and books. People are also indexed by occupation and profession.

Famous Actors and Actresses on the American Stage
by William J. Young, 2 vols., 1975  (Ref 792.028 Y78f)

Plays, Players and Playwrights; an Illustrated History by Marion Geisinger, 1971  (792.09 G313p)

Who's Who in the Theatre, Ian Herbert, ed., 1977  ( 792.0922 W628)

Who’s Who Ref 920.042 W621

Directory of American Scholars Ref 923.773 D597

Books on Specific People
Search our catalog or WorldCat using the subject term “biography,” combined with a person’s name or event. ex: biography and Benjamin Franklin. or “biography” and “civil rights movements”.

Articles on Specific People
LexisNexis People Search

Once you have chosen the database most appropriate to your topic, search using the person’s name as a subject.

Ethnic Figures

African American Lives Ref 920.009296 Af258

African American National Biography Ref 920 Af258

American Indian Biographies Ref 920 Am512

Notable Black American Men Ref 920.71 N899

Notable Black American Women Ref 920.72 N8992 

Notable Latino Americans Ref 920 M511