Skip to main content
site header image

Theatre: A Research Guide: Encyclopedias and Handbooks

High Library Information

QuickSearch

Library Catalog

Journal Finder

Interlibrary Loan

Ask Us:

Email

Text: 717-759-9178

Call: 717-361-1461

Chat with a Librarian

Reference Hours:

8:30 am - 5 pm    Mon-Fri

6 pm - 9 pm    Mon-Thurs

*Break and Summer Hours Vary

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Cambridge Guide to American Theatre,Don. B. Wilmeth, ed., 1994  (Ref 792.0973 C178)

          Cambridge Guide to Asian Theatre, James Brandon, ed., 1993  (792.095 C178)

          Cambridge Guide to World Theatre, Martin Banham, ed., 1988  (Ref 792.0321 C178)

          The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre, Phyllis Hartnoll, ed., 1992  (792.3 C744)

          Directing a Play by Michael McCaffery, 1989  (792.02 Sch337)

          The Encyclopedia of Stage Plays into Film by John Tibbetts and James M. Welsh, 2001  (Ref 791.436 T552es)

          Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre by Stanley Greene, 1976.  (Ref 782.81 G798e)

          Facts on File Dictionary of the Theatre, William PAckard, ed., 1988  (Ref 792.03 F142)

          Guide to Monologues, Men: an Index of over 800 Monologues from Classical and Modern Plays, Robert Emerson and Jane Grumbach, eds., 1988  (Ref 808.8245016 G946). Copy alslo located on level 4, same call number.

          Guide to Monologues, Women: an Index of over 800 Monologues from Classical and Modern Plays, Robert Emerson and Jane Grumbach, eds., 1988  (Ref 808.8245016 G946). Copy alslo located on level 4, same call number.

          The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare, Michael Dobson, ed., 2001  (Ref 822.33 Go98o)

          The Oxford Companion the American Theatre by Gerald Bordman and Thomas S. Hischak, 2004.  (Ref 792.0973 B729o3) 3rd. edition.

          The Oxford Companion the Theatre, Phyllis Hartnoll, ed., 1983  (Ref 792.3 H256o4)

          The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance, Dennis Kennedy, ed., 2 vols, 2003.  (Ref 792.03 Ox98)

          Stage Management and Theatre Administration by Pauline Menear and Terry Hawkins, 1989  (792.02 Sch337)

          Theatre Lighting from A to Z by Norman Boulanger and Warren Lounsbury, 1992.  (Ref 792.023 B763t)