Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

High Library Updates: Fall 2020

Current Services

We're pleased to continue to support your library needs to the very best of our ability during this time!

We encourage you to contact us at ask@etown.libanswers.com with any questions.

Building Hours and Access

Please note that we're operating with abbreviated building hours this fall:

Mondays-Thursdays  7:45 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Fridays  7:45 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Saturdays  Closed
Sundays  12:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.

As always, visit LibCal to view our full calendar of hours and events.

Our main level is open for class sessions and study, but all other floors are closed.

To enter the library, scan your College ID at the card swipe opposite our main entrance.

Collections Access

As you know, more than 90% of our collections are always available online from any location. We offer 24/7 access to e-books, e-journals, streaming audio and video, digital archival items, and lots of full-text content from our 100+ subject-specific databases. Search across many collections simultaneously by using QuickSearch on our homepage.

In-Library Pickup of Physical Items

Like many academic libraries, we're limiting access to our book stacks for health and safety reasons. But our physical collections are still available to borrow! We're now pulling all requested books, DVDs, and print items for you, checking them out in advance, and then emailing you when the items are ready for pickup near our front desk. To request High Library items, simply follow these steps:

  1. Search for your items in QuickSearch on the library's homepage.
  2. Click "Sign In" at the top of the search results page.
  3. Sign in with your Etown username and password.
  4. Click the title of the item that you'd like to borrow.
  5. In the "Get It" section, click "Request Item."
  6. Complete and submit the request form.

If you enjoy browsing the shelves, be sure to check out the "Virtual Browse" feature at the bottom of every title record--for books, DVDs, scores, and other physical items--in QuickSearch.

Mail Delivery of Physical Items

If you're learning or teaching remotely this fall, we're happy to mail requested physical items to you. We're also covering the full cost of each shipment by including a pre-paid return label in each package. To request High Library items for mail delivery, simply follow these steps:

  1. Search for your items in QuickSearch on the library's homepage.
  2. Click "Sign In" at the top of the search results page.
  3. Sign in with your Etown username and password.
  4. Click the title of the item that you'd like to borrow.
  5. In the "Get It" section, click "Request Item."
  6. Enter your mailing address in the "Remote? Add a mailing address" field.
  7. Complete and submit the request form.

Laptop and iPad Loans

To request a laptop or an iPad, just follow these steps:

  1. Search for "library laptop computer" or "library iPad" in QuickSearch on the library's homepage.
  2. Click "Sign In" at the top of the search results page.
  3. Sign in with your Etown username and password.
  4. Click the record for "library laptop computer" or "library iPad."
  5. In the "Get It" section, click "Request Item."
  6. Complete and submit the request form.

We'll hold the device for you at our front desk for a limited time, so be sure to pick up your requested laptop or iPad before the library closes the following day.  (You may also visit the library's front desk to request a loan in person.)  Please note that we'll ask you to sign a Technology Borrowing Agreement when you borrow a device for the first time.

Our laptops are configured in such a way that they work only on campus.  If you're learning or teaching remotely this fall, please continue to contact ITS with any technology questions or needs.

Scanning Requests for Print Journal Articles

If you need a copy of an article that we hold in print, please ask us for a scan. Just follow these steps:

  1. Search for your items in QuickSearch on the library's homepage.
  2. Click "Sign In" at the top of the search results page.
  3. Sign in with your Etown username and password.
  4. Click the title of the journal or article that you'd like us to scan.
  5. In the "Get It" section, click "Request an Article Scan."
  6. Add the article details and submit the request form. Please be as specific as possible!

You may be prompted to log into ILLiad to complete your article requests. Just follow the instructions on each screen, and contact us at HighLibrary@etown.edu if you get stuck. We'll then email all scans to you as soon as we complete them.

Processing of Item Returns

As recent studies have shown that the virus lingers on paper surfaces, we're placing all High Library returns and received interlibrary loans in a special quarantine area for four days. Thank you in advance for your patience and understanding as we add this important step to our item processing.

Community Borrowers

ACLCP/PALCI borrowers and members of the general public must pre-register for scheduled building access this fall. Please contact Sarah Penniman, Director, with any questions about this process.

Course Reserves for Faculty

We encourage you to select electronic/streaming versions of titles whenever possible for your course reserves. Feel free to work with Sarah Penniman and Tom Zaharevich, Collection Development Librarian, as you identify your necessary resources.

Food and Drink

Beverages are permitted in the building this fall, but we do ask that you take all snack and meal breaks outside the library. Thank you in advance for your compliance and understanding.

While the Brew Jay is currently closed, we hope to reopen our Starbucks self-serve coffee kiosk next year!

Friends of High Library

Friends of High Library must pre-register for scheduled building access this fall. Please contact Sarah Penniman with any questions about this process.

Hess Archives

As always, the Hess Archives offers lots of searchable digital collections, including the College's yearbooks, student newspaper, and historical photographs.

If you'd like to schedule an appointment to view items from our physical archival collections, or if you have any questions regarding donations or transfers of materials, please contact Rachel Grove Rohrbaugh, Archivist.

Information Literacy Instruction

We invite faculty to reach out to Josh Cohen, Instruction and Outreach Librarian, and Jennifer Strain, Instruction and Scholarly Communications Librarian, to schedule information literacy instruction sessions and workshops! You may also submit your requests via our request form if you'd prefer. Visit our Information Literacy page to learn more about the program and its goals, and to view sample topics covered in first-year and upper-division courses.

Interlibrary Loan

Please feel free to submit all interlibrary loan requests as usual.

If you're learning or teaching remotely this fall, we're happy to mail interlibrary loan books and multimedia to you. We're also covering the full cost of each shipment by including a pre-paid return label in each package. To request interlibrary loan items for mail delivery, simply follow these steps:

  1. Log into ILLiad with your Etown username and password.
  2. Click "New Requests" and choose "Book" or "Multimedia."
  3. Enter your mailing address in the "Notes" field.
  4. Complete and submit the request form.

One Button Studio

The One Button Studio is open this fall for your high-quality video production needs. Reserve the space in advance to practice a presentation, rehearse for an interview, record a course project, and more! Please allow spacing of at least 24 hours between reservations.

Research Help

Feel free to connect with us for your research needs this semester!

  • Visit the reference desk on our main level during these hours:
    • Mondays-Thursdays  10:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
    • Mondays-Thursdays 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.
    • Fridays  10:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
  • Schedule an in-person or an online research appointment.
  • Chat with us online.
  • Email your questions to ask@etown.libanswers.com.*
  • Text us at 717-759-9178.*
  • Call us at 717-361-1461.
  • Contact a librarian directly.

*We monitor our reference email and texting service on weekends!

Check out our Getting Started research guide for a step-by-step overview of the research process as well as tips for locating specific types of sources. This guide also offers hints for search strategies, source evaluation, and citation.

Our program-specific research guides recommend key resources for tackling research assignments within your major.

Study Rooms

We regret that our popular study rooms on Levels 1 and 3 are not available this fall; however, we do have lots of general seating areas--and two first-come, first-served study rooms (Rooms 218 and 220)--on our main floor that can accommodate group work at a safe social distance.

Suggestions for Purchase

Please continue to submit your recommendations for additions to the High Library's collections. You may also send your suggestions directly to Tom Zaharevich.

High Library

undefined