Research Guides: FYS Identities, Diversity, and Social Justice: Find articles

Medical/Health Science Databases

Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Covers all areas of nursing and allied health sciences with access to full-text, scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Provides indexing, abstracts and full-text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Research literature relevant to nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Includes nursing journals, publications from and the American Nurses' Association and the National League for Nursing, and primary journals from allied health disciplines.

Political Science and Criminal Justice Databases

Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 2,000 journals, and full-text articles for 500 top-ranked scholarly journals. Also includes reference works and professional conference papers. Coverage includes law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations with abstracts plus selected full text, to the world's literature in criminology, including trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment, and sentencing. Sources include international journals, books, reports, dissertations, and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database of over 10,000 academic journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and books. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study including the humanities, sciences and social sciences, education, arts, literature, and more.
(replaces Academic Search Complete)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary archive of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics. JSTOR also contains a large collection of scholarly ebooks from academic publishers.

Education Databases

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education as well as all educational specialities such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Includes scholarly and popular periodicals, monographs, education-related conference papers, book reviews and more.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
An authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. It features journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Also includes books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more.

Social Science Databases

Depending upon the subject of your research paper, using a subject database might be more helpful than using QuickSearch or Academic Search Complete. Below are a couple of example subject databases that you might consider using, depending upon your topic. But I would advise you to meet with the librarian for suggested subject databases if you'd like to explore the best one for your topic area.

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific journal articles in psychology and the behavioral and social sciences from journals published by the American Psychological Association.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Sources include peer-reviewed journals, book chapters, books, and dissertations.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Complete with indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources; also includes searchable cited references.

Recommended Newspaper Databases

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers complete television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more.
New York Times Academic Pass (Registration) This link opens in a new window
Elizabethtown College students, faculty, and staff can receive online access to the New York Times through its web site via a subscription paid for by the High Library.

Once you have registered, you can then access http://www.nytimes.com from any location, on or off campus.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Wall Street Journal (1984-Current) This link opens in a new window
An authoritative source of global and national business reporting. Coverage includes U.S. and international news, politics, arts, culture, lifestyle, sports, health and more.
Washington Post (digital access) This link opens in a new window
The High Library offers faculty, students, and staff unlimited digital access to The Washington Post. Be sure to use the link found here in our A to Z list for access on or off-campus. Please note that you will not see any High Library branding, and ads and offers for personal subscriptions will still be visible.

NEW: You can now create an individual account to view the Washington Post online and utilize their app. Follow the instructions on the Digital Newspapers guide to create your account. Please note, you can still access the Washington Post online, on or off-campus by using the link above with no registration required.

FYS Identities, Diversity, and Social Justice