PH 370

The Chicago Manual of Style (18th Edition)

The Chicago Manual of Style has two different systems of citation:

• Notes and Bibliography
• Author-Date

Most humanities courses use the notes and bibliography system, while the author-date system is common in the social sciences. If you aren't sure which you should be using, check with your professor! This guide will focus on the notes and bibliography system.

Chicago Style Notes & Bibliography System

“Notes” are in-text citations that are located either at the bottom of each page (footnotes) or at the end of the paper (endnotes). Notes are used every time a source is cited and are indicated with a superscript number in the text. The accompanying bibliography at the end of the paper (after any notes) names each source once in an alphabetical list.

Both the citation in the bibliography and the citation in the first note for each source are full citations; however, the formats for these citations are different. There is also a different format for notes that reference a source that has already been cited. Some rules are the same for the citations in both notes and bibliographies, and some are different.

Notes on Notes

• The first note should always contain a complete citation (example 1 below), subsequent notes may use the abbreviated form (example 2 below).
• Notes should ALWAYS be Arabic numerals (1, 2, 3....) NOT Roman (i, ii, iii...)

Example Citations

Print Book

Notes

1. FirstName LastName, Full Title (Publisher, Year), pages cited.

2. LastName, Shortened Title, pages cited.

1. Mary Roach, Packing for Mars: The Curious Science of Life in the Void (W.W. Norton & Company, 2010), 63-65.

2. Roach, Packing for Mars, 149-150.

Bibliography

LastName, FirstName. Title. Publisher, Year.

Roach, Mary. Packing for Mars: The Curious Science of Life in the Void. W.W. Norton & Company, 2010.

Journal Article

Notes

1. FirstName LastName, "Full Article Title," Journal volume#, no. issue# (year): pages cited, URL.

2. LastName, "Shortened Article Title," pages cited.

1. Elias Okon and Daniel Sudarsky, “Losing Stuff Down a Black Hole,” Foundations of Physics 48, no. 4 (2018): 419, https://doi.org/10.1007/s10701-018-0154-3.

2. Okon and Sudarsky, "Losing Stuff," 422.

Bibliography

LastName, FirstName. "Title of Article." Journal Title volume#, no. issue#, (year): page range. URL.

Okon, Elias, and Daniel Sudarsky. “Losing Stuff Down a Black Hole.” Foundations of Physics 48, no. 4 (2018): 411-428. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10701-018-0154-3.

Webpage with an Organization as the Author

Notes

1. “Page Title,” Website Title, Name of Organization or Sponsor, date of last update/modification or access date, URL.

2. "Shortened Title."

1. “Night Sky Heritage,” Dark Sky, International Dark-Sky Association, accessed November 12, 2024, https://www.darksky.org/ light-pollution/night-sky-heritage/.

2. "Night Sky Heritage."

Bibliography

Name of Organization or Sponsor. “Page Title.” Website Title. Date of last update/modification or access date. URL.

International Dark-Sky Association. “Night Sky Heritage.” Dark Sky. Accessed November 12, 2024. https://www.darksky.org/ light-pollution/night-sky-heritage/.