Research Guides: Religious Studies: A Research Guide: Find Articles

High Library Information

Library Homepage

QuickSearch

Ask Us:

Chat with a Librarian

Email Us

Text: 717-759-9178

Call: 717-361-1461

Request Appointment

Reference Hours:

8:30 am - 5 pm Mon-Fri

6 pm - 9 pm Mon-Thurs

*Break and Summer Hours Vary

Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database of over 10,000 academic journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and books. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study including the humanities, sciences and social sciences, education, arts, literature, and more.
(replaces Academic Search Complete)
ATLAReligion This link opens in a new window
An essential resource for religious and theological studies, providing bibliographic records covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history and religion in social issues. Includes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion,
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference database that provides access to a large number of biographical sources, atlases, and encyclopedias covering the arts, business, economics, history, literature, science, technology, religion, philosophy, politics, psychology, geography, country studies, and more.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text journals, books and other published sources, covering all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content. Includes abstracts and full text from journals, books and book reviews, art work and images, performances and reviews, literature and criticisms, poems and short stories, and conference proceedings.
(replaces Humanities International Complete)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary archive of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics. JSTOR also contains a large collection of scholarly ebooks from academic publishers.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific journal articles in psychology and the behavioral and social sciences from journals published by the American Psychological Association.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Sources include peer-reviewed journals, book chapters, books, and dissertations.

How do I get the article?

Use Journal Finder to see which journals you can get. Some titles are within the High Library itself (in print, microfiche, or microfilm), others are available electronically in various databases. If the journal is held, check to see if the dates you need are available. This is a powerful gateway to about 33,000 titles!

If the periodical you want is in microfilm or microfiche, you can order copies of the articles online by using ILLiad. Click on Request an Article and fill out the form. You will receive an email with a link when the article is available, usually within 24-48 hours (M-F).

Articles that are not available either in the library or in library databases can be ordered on interlibrary loan, through ILLiad. ILL can take anywhere from 3-5 business days, on average.

Subject Guide

Rachel Grove Rohrbaugh

Email Me

Contact:

Hess Archives and Special Collections
Elizabethtown College
One Alpha Drive
Elizabethtown, Pa 17022

717-361-1506

Subjects: Hess Archives, History, Religious Studies