Research Guides: Mathematics: A Research Guide: Home

Not sure where to start? The Library Catalog and QuickSearch will both cover a broad range of physical and electronic resources held by the Library. QuickSearch search results will even include some of our online journal article content. For additional or specialized information, check our list of databases below. See the menu to the upper left for other commonly used resources.

If you are having trouble getting results or selecting the right resources, please see a librarian. We would be happy to help you.

Top Sources

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet offers access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Look for the "ViewIt@Etown" icon in the article details to view full-text or request via interlibrary loan. Produced by the American Mathematical Society.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides resources covering a wide range of STEM topics including artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, chemical engineering, energy resources and robotics, as well as the business and social implications of new technologies.
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
An authoritative resource that contains high-quality reference material covering all major scientific disciplines.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database of over 10,000 academic journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and books. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study including the humanities, sciences and social sciences, education, arts, literature, and more.
(replaces Academic Search Complete)
QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch is a discovery tool that retrieves books, articles, media and more found in the High Library Catalog, databases, and digital collections. Use the facets on the left side of the results screen to narrow your search by publication type, language, date, topic and more.

All Mathematics Databases

Mathematics ArXiv
Mathematics ArXiv is a pre-print service that offers cutting edge research. Articles may or may not have been refereed, published, or submitted for publication, etc. Search by author, title or keyword.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database of over 10,000 academic journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and books. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study including the humanities, sciences and social sciences, education, arts, literature, and more.
(replaces Academic Search Complete)
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
An authoritative resource that contains high-quality reference material covering all major scientific disciplines.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides resources covering a wide range of STEM topics including artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, chemical engineering, energy resources and robotics, as well as the business and social implications of new technologies.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of handbooks, data sets and reference sources in science, technology and engineering. Productivity tools include interactive charts, graphs, spreadsheets, and equation plotters. Helpers include an interactive periodical table, an Excel add-in, and a comprehensive unit converter.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet offers access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Look for the "ViewIt@Etown" icon in the article details to view full-text or request via interlibrary loan. Produced by the American Mathematical Society.
QuickSearch This link opens in a new window
QuickSearch is a discovery tool that retrieves books, articles, media and more found in the High Library Catalog, databases, and digital collections. Use the facets on the left side of the results screen to narrow your search by publication type, language, date, topic and more.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is a data visualization and mapping tool which provides easy access to current and historical demographic information from the U.S. Decennial Census, American Community Survey (ACS), County Business Patterns, and more. Users can create maps and reports in order to visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistical data from sources such as opinion research institutions, business organizations, scientific journals, trade publications and government agencies. Topics include business, politics, society, technology, education.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
The WorldCat database contains more than 90 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Includes records for books, videos, journals, microfiche, websites, and much more. Access the old WorldCat (FirstSearch) interface here.

Mathematics: A Research Guide

High Library Information

Your Librarian

Top Sources

All Mathematics Databases