Research Guides: English: A Research Guide: Literary Criticism

Online Literary Criticism

Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
This database provides online access to the full-text of the Thomson Gale Literature Criticism Reference Sets Contemporary Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism & Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. Includes author biographical information, criticism (excerpts or full-text) published from an author's own time to the present as well as bibliographical information.
Literary Reference Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides the most relevant information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes focusing on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature and children's literature. Also includes volumes of fantasy/science fiction, contemporary literature, world philosophy and religious literature, and literary study guides covering American Literature, English Literature and literary genres.
Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window
A large collection of full-text works of prose, poetry and drama. Works may be located by author or title, or searched full-text for specific words or phrases. Also includes secondary sources of biographical and critical pieces on authors and their works.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This bibliography database directs researchers to more than 3 million citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, scholarly websites, editions, and translations published from the late 19^th century to the present. Covers a broad range of humanities subjects, including world languages and literature, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing studies, teaching of language, and history of publishing.
(replaces MLA International Bibliography)

Print Literary Criticism

Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Includes criticism and author biographical information for Short Stories, Contemporary Literature, 20th Century Literature, 19th Century Literature, Literature from 1400-1800, Shakespeare's Works, and Classical & Medieval Literature. All of these titles are indexed in the Gale Literary Index.

Short Story Criticism
Call Number: Ref PN3373 .S386
Drama Criticism
Call Number: Ref PN1601 .D59
Critical Survey of Long Fiction
Call Number: Ref PN3451 .C75 & eBook
Critical Survey of Short Fiction
Call Number: Ref PN3321 & eBook
Critical Survey of Poetry
Call Number: Ref PR 502 .C85 & eBook
Critical Survey of Drama
Call Number: Ref PR623 .C75 & eBook