Research Guides: MU 503: Music of African Diasporas: Find Articles and Music

Music Databases

Music Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. Contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sounds This link opens in a new window
As a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions, this collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database of over 10,000 academic journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and books. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study including the humanities, sciences and social sciences, education, arts, literature, and more.
(replaces Academic Search Complete)
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text journals, books and other published sources, covering all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content. Includes abstracts and full text from journals, books and book reviews, art work and images, performances and reviews, literature and criticisms, poems and short stories, and conference proceedings.
(replaces Humanities International Complete)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary archive of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics. JSTOR also contains a large collection of scholarly ebooks from academic publishers.