We encourage you to contact us at ask@etown.libanswers.com with any questions!
Building Access
Now through Sunday, August 15
Mondays-Thursdays 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Fridays 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.
Saturdays-Sundays Closed
Monday, August 16, to Sunday, August 22
Mondays-Fridays 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Saturdays-Sundays Closed
Our main level is open for class sessions and study this summer, but all other floors are closed.
We are planning to reopen our full building and to return to our regular operating hours on August 23!
Fall 2021 Hours
Mondays-Thursdays 7:45 a.m. to 1:00 a.m.
Fridays 7:45 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Saturdays 10:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Sundays 12:00 p.m. to 1:00 a.m.
As always, visit LibCal to view our full calendar of hours and events.
Collections Access
As you know, more than 90% of our collections are always available online from any location. We offer 24/7 access to e-books, e-journals, streaming audio and video, digital archival items, and lots of full-text content from our 100+ subject-specific databases. Search across many collections simultaneously by using QuickSearch on our homepage.
In-Library Pickup of Physical Items
Like many academic libraries, we're limiting access to our book stacks for health and safety reasons. But our physical collections are still available to borrow! We're now pulling all requested books, DVDs, and print items for you, checking them out in advance, and then emailing you when the items are ready for pickup. To request High Library items, simply follow these steps:
If you enjoy browsing the shelves, be sure to check out the "Virtual Browse" feature at the bottom of every title record--for books, DVDs, scores, and other physical items--in QuickSearch.
Mail Delivery of Physical Items
If you're learning or teaching remotely, we're happy to mail requested physical items to you. We're also covering the full cost of each shipment by providing a pre-paid return label for each package. To request High Library items for mail delivery, simply follow these steps:
Laptop and iPad Loans
To request a laptop or an iPad, just follow these steps:
We'll hold the device for you for a limited time, so be sure to pick up your requested laptop or iPad within 24 hours of placing your request. Please note that we'll ask you to sign a Technology Borrowing Agreement when you borrow a device for the first time.
Our laptops are configured in such a way that they work only on campus. If you're learning or teaching remotely, please continue to contact ITS with any technology questions or needs.
Scanning Requests for Print Journal Articles
If you need a copy of an article that we hold in print, please ask us for a scan. Just follow these steps:
You may be prompted to log into ILLiad to complete your article requests. Just follow the instructions on each screen, and contact us at HighLibrary@etown.edu if you get stuck. We'll then email all scans to you as soon as we complete them.
Community Borrowers
The building's main level is open to the general public, and ACLCP/PALCI borrowers may request items from our physical collections at this time. Please contact Sarah Penniman, Director, with title requests and questions about the pickup process.
Course Reserves for Faculty
We encourage you to select electronic/streaming versions of titles whenever possible for your course reserves. Feel free to work with Sarah Penniman and Tom Zaharevich, Collection Development Librarian, as you identify your necessary resources.
Food and Drink
Beverages are permitted in the building at this time, but we do ask that you take all snack and meal breaks outside the library this summer. Thank you in advance for your compliance and understanding.
While the Brew Jay is currently closed, we're planning to reopen our Starbucks self-serve coffee kiosk in the fall!
Friends of High Library
The building's main level is open to the general public, and Friends of High Library may request items from our physical collections at this time. Please contact Sarah Penniman, Director, with title requests and questions about the pickup process.
Hess Archives
As always, the Hess Archives offers lots of searchable digital collections, including the College's yearbooks, student newspaper, and historical photographs.
If you'd like to schedule an appointment to view items from our physical archival collections, or if you have any questions regarding donations or transfers of materials, please contact Rachel Grove Rohrbaugh, Archivist.
Information Literacy Instruction
We invite faculty to reach out to Josh Cohen, Instruction and Outreach Librarian, and Jennifer Strain, Instruction and Scholarly Communications Librarian, to schedule information literacy instruction sessions and workshops! You may also submit your requests via our request form if you'd prefer. Visit our Information Literacy page to learn more about the program and its goals, and to view sample topics covered in first-year and upper-division courses.
Interlibrary Loan
Please feel free to submit all interlibrary loan requests as usual.
If you're learning or teaching remotely, we're happy to mail interlibrary loan books and multimedia to you. We're also covering the full cost of each shipment by providing a pre-paid return label for each package. To request interlibrary loan items for mail delivery, simply follow these steps:
The One Button Studio is open! Stop by or reserve the space in advance to practice a presentation, rehearse for an interview, record a course project, and more!
Research Help
Feel free to connect with us for your research needs, and note that we monitor our reference email and texting service on weekends!
Take a look at our Getting Started research guide for a step-by-step overview of the research process as well as tips for locating specific types of sources. This guide also offers hints for search strategies, source evaluation, and citation.
Our program-specific research guides recommend key resources for tackling research assignments within your major.
Study Rooms
We regret that our popular study rooms on Levels 1 and 3 are not available this summer; however, we do have lots of general seating areas--and two first-come, first-served study rooms (Rooms 218 and 220)-- on our main floor.
Suggestions for Purchase
Please continue to submit your recommendations for additions to the High Library's collections. You may also send your suggestions directly to Tom Zaharevich.
