Books beyond EtownE-booksReference Books
Journal FinderScholarly versus Popular
Using Google
This is the "Home" page of the "FYS What's Opera Doc?! Opera, Broadway and the Silver Screen" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FYS What's Opera Doc?! Opera, Broadway and the Silver Screen   Tags: college, elizabethtown, first, opera, seminar, year  

Last Updated: Jun 26, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.etown.edu/fysopera Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quick Links

Ask Us!

Txt us @ 717-759-9178

Catalog

Journal Finder

ILLiad (interlibrary loan)

 

Database suggestions

Choose the most specific database for your topic. Databases you might use include:

Academic Search Premier

Humanities International Complete

The Music Index contains citations from more than 725 music periodicals, covering all styles and genres of music. The index cites articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.

JSTOR: Provides access to articles in the older issues of journal titles in the humanities and social sciences.

 

Getting Started -- From Opera to Broadway: American Lyric Theater

    porgyandbess

Doing research on American lyric opera?    Use the tabs and links above to find books, databases and hints for effective searching.   This is just the beginning -- there are many other sources  that may be useful to you. 

 Contact me:   Susan Krall, kralls@etown.edu and I'll be happy to offer further suggestions, or AskUs.

Tips for effective searching

They call it "research" because it requires persistence and flexibility -- search and search again.

Try both keyword and subject searching.

Narrow a search by using subject headings.   Locate subject headings by looking at the descriptors associated with pertinent articles and books. 

Try these tips to narrow your search.

Try synonyms (AIDS or Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome).  Can't think of any synonyms? Try an online thesaurus. Try these tips to expand your search.

Try both singular and plural forms of words.   Use an "*" in Academic Search Premier to get a variety of word endings.

If searching a compound word, try it as one word and as two words (for example,  rain forest and  rainforest).

If searching a word with an internal dash, search it in each database with and without the internal dash (for example, search both x-ray and xray).

Your Library Liaison

Profile Image
Susan Krall
Contact Info
Head, Library Database Systems
High Library
Elizabethtown College
(717) 361-1457
kralls@etown.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip