Skip to main content
site header image

English 100 Writing and Language - Dolson

Getting Started

With links to a variety of resources just for your discipline, this guide is a great place to start your research!  Remember that these are only some of the sources that may be useful to you.  Please contact me for help with any of your research at cohenjp@etown.edu, x1453 or e-mail AskUs.

Primary Source Exercise - Section D

Try to think of a primary source for your topic. In the Google Doc, type your name, your topic, and one primary resource.

Primary Source Exercise - Section E

Try to think of a primary source for your topic. In the Google Doc, type your name, your topic, and one primary resource.

Secondary Source - Research Exercise - Section D

You will be assigned to use a database to find a scholarly article on your topic that is relevant to your research (this will likely be a secondary source). After you find a relevant article that you like, please post a permalink to the article in the Google Sheet along with your name and topic. 

You will be assigned to explore one of the databases from the main library webpage (since they could be on any topic). In discussion, you will share what keywords you found most helpful. For discussion, you will compare your results from an individual database with results from QuickSearch. Which do you like better? Why?

Secondary Source - Research Exercise - Section E

You will be assigned to use a database to find a scholarly article on your topic that is relevant to your research (this will likely be a secondary source). After you find a relevant article that you like, please post a permalink to the article in the Google Sheet along with your name and topic. 

You will be assigned to explore one of the databases from the main library webpage (since they could be on any topic). In discussion, you will share what keywords you found most helpful. For discussion, you will compare your results from an individual database with results from QuickSearch. Which do you like better? Why?

High Library QuickSearch

QuickSearchLogo

QuickSearch is a discovery tool that retrieves books, articles, media and more found in the High Library Catalog, databases, and digital collections. Use the facets on the left side of the results screen to narrow your search by publication type, language, date, topic and more.