Research Guides: BA 495: Corporate Strategy: Industry Analysis Databases

NAICs or SICs

Industry research is often most successful if you know the NAICS for your industry. Many business information sources use SIC and NAICS codes as access points.

By RMajouji. CC-BY-2.5. Wikimedia Commons.

NAICS, or the North American Industry Classification System, has been used by government and business since 1997 to standardize the classification of industries.

SIC stands for Standard Industrial Classification code; SIC codes are no longer officially in use, although you will see still SIC's in business sources.

Search for your industry's NAICS

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).
(Ref 338.0973 N864 2012)

Allows one to find equivalent industry codes between the Standard Industrial Code (SIC) and the NAICS.

Library Databases on Industries

Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
You can search by NAICS code or keyword. If you prefer, you can browse by topic or alphabetically. Analysis includes the competitive landscape, products, operations and technology as well as sales and marketing, finance and regulation,international insights, regional highlights and human resources.

Valueline Investment Survey
To locate industry peers,after entering a ticker symbol into the search box on the upper right, look to the middle right of the page to see a listing of peer companies with a comparison of returns.

Click on Markets in the top banner to see a listing of industry reports.

Industry Analysis is usually in the middle of the page of the primary stock that you are searching. Click on the PDF icon next to the industry to get a one page summary.

IBISworld
Features thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information which provides valuable insights into America's 700+ industries. Includes information on industry performance, outlooks, products and markets, operating conditions and risk ratings. Many thanks to the The High Center for funding this subscription!

Other Relevant Databases

Use databases to find articles and do research on your industry.

Access databases from the High Library webpage under Articles & more.

Business Source Complete - Advanced Searching
Use the term "market share" and name of company or industry. Provides full text articles for over 450 peer reviewed journals covering all aspects of the business world. Indexes more than 1100 scholarly business journals.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
a multi-disciplinary database indexing over 12,500 journals. 8,500 of those journals are full text. Use these sources to locate articles on competitive conditions, labor relations, governmental attitudes, etc. for your industry.
(replaces Academic Search Complete)

Market Share Reports

Find Industry Ratios and other Industry Info - Books in the Library

RMA annual statement studies
Call Number: Reference ; HF5681.B2 R53
Industry ratios. Liquidity, coverage, leverage, operating expenses to sales ratios. Also provides industry financial information. Organized by NAICS.

This up-to-date resource is held at the reference desk. Please ask a librarian to view it. It cannot be checked out of the library
Almanac of business and industrial financial ratios by Troy, Leo
Call Number: 338.5 T864a
Industry ratios. Analyzes 195 industries with 50 financial performance items.

This resource is NOT in the reference section but is located on the 3rd floor. It is up to date and available to be checked out.
Standard & Poor's industry surveys
Call Number: 332.67 St785i
In addition to industry ratios, includes basic and current analysis for 33 major domestic industries. Includes financial comparisons of the leading companies in each industry and is updated quarterly.

The two most recent volumes in the reference section. The rest can be checked out from Level 3. This is a very comprehensive resource.