Literary CriticismQuotations
This is the "Biographies" page of the "Hunting for specific sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Hunting for specific sources  

reviews, company info, pro/con, etc.
Last Updated: Mar 30, 2017 URL: http://libraryguides.etown.edu/research Print Guide RSS Updates

Biographies Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Print Resources

Cover Art
American National Biography
Call Number: Ref 920.073 Am5122
Entries are alphabetical, but there are also indexes arranged by profession and state.

Cover Art
Dictionary of National Biography
Call Number: Ref 920.042 D554
This set covers all time periods of Great Britain.

Cover Art
Biography Index
Call Number: Index Shelves
Indexes biographical information found in articles and books. People are also indexed by occupation and profession.

Cover Art
Current Biography Yearbook
Call Number: Ref 920 C936
Consult the annual and ten-year indexes in the back of each volume.

Cover Art
Who's Who
Call Number: Ref 920.042 W621

Cover Art
Directory of American Scholars
Call Number: Ref 923.773 D597

 

Ethnic Figures

Cover Art
African American Lives
Call Number: Ref 920.009296 Af258

Cover Art
African American National Biography
Call Number: Ref 920 Af258
8 volumes

Cover Art
American Indian Biographies
Call Number: Ref 920 Am512

Cover Art
Notable Black American Men
Call Number: Ref 920.71 N899

Cover Art
Notable Black American Women
Call Number: Ref 920.72 N8992
2 volumes

Cover Art
Notable Latino Americans
Call Number: Ref 920 M511

 

Tips for finding print biographies

Search our library catalog or WorldCat using the subject term "biography."

Combine this term with a person's name or event.  For example, biography and Benjamin Franklin or "biography" and "civil rights movement."

 

Artists and Authors

Cover Art
Contemporary Authors
Call Number: Ref 920.1 C761
Click on the title for the electronic version.

Cover Art
Contemporary Artists
Call Number: Ref 709.2 C761 1996

Cover Art
Dictionary of Art
Call Number: Ref 703 D554
34 volumes

 

Musicians

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Call Number: Ref 780.3 G964 2006
10 volumes

Cover Art
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Call Number: Ref 780.3 N532 2000
29 volumes

 

Scientists

Cover Art
New Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Call Number: Ref 509.22 N532
8 volumes

Cover Art
American Men and Women of Science
Call Number: Ref 925 Am512

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip