Research Guides: Education: A Research Guide: Databases

Education Databases

Education Source This link opens in a new window
1990+. (some 1930+). Full text of 1300+ education journals covering early childhood to higher ed, and all educational specialties, such as special ed, counseling, curriculum instruction, and related social issues.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
(via EBSCOhost) 1966+.
• ERIC Documents can be identified by ED numbers. Some documents are available full-text within ERIC. They are also available from October 2002+ at the Federal Digital System (FDsys) Web site. ERIC documents have not been peer-reviewed.
• ERIC journal articles have EJ numbers. Some are linked within ERIC; for others, check our Journal Finder list.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 220 peer-reviewed of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

Multidisciplinary databases

Psychology and Sociology

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
For social and psychological aspects of education issues: (via EBSCOhost) 1887+.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
For social and psychological aspects of education issues: (via EBSCOhost) 1985+. Full text of 41 psychology journals from APA. For maximum results, start by searching PsycINFO, above.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
For social and psychological aspects of education issues: (via EBSCOhost) 1908+. Articles from over 700 sociological journals, covering topics such as abortion, criminal justice, gender studies, marriage and family, religion and urban sociology.

Statistics and Data

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistical data from sources such as opinion research institutions, business organizations, scientific journals, trade publications and government agencies. Topics include business, politics, society, technology, education.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is a data visualization and mapping tool which provides easy access to current and historical demographic information from the U.S. Decennial Census, American Community Survey (ACS), County Business Patterns, and more. Users can create maps and reports in order to visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
The ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) database has over 9,000 datasets available spanning various social science disciplines and topics. The datasets in ICPSR are primarily quantitative, but it also includes some qualitative datasets.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
(through EBSCOhost) 1975+.
Large academic multi-disciplinary database, provides full text for more than 4,500 publications. Great starting point for any topic.
(replaces Academic Search Complete)
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
For historical aspects of any topic: (via EBSCOhost) 1925+. Find articles covering literature, philosophy, the arts, history, and culture.
(replaces Humanities International Complete)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary archive of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics. JSTOR also contains a large collection of scholarly ebooks from academic publishers.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference database that provides access to a large number of biographical sources, atlases, and encyclopedias covering the arts, business, economics, history, literature, science, technology, religion, philosophy, politics, psychology, geography, country studies, and more.

Public Library Databases

Most school libraries have their own databases, as do public libraries. Many of these databases will be geared towards children.

All public libraries in Pennsylvania have access to the databases in the POWER list.

As an Etown student, you are eligible for a library card at the Elizabethtown Public Library.

How do I get the article?

Use Journal Finder to see which journals you can get. Some titles are within the High Library itself (in print, microfiche, or microfilm), others are available electronically in various databases. If the journal is held, check to see if the dates you need are available. This is a powerful gateway to about 33,000 titles!

If the periodical you want is in microfilm or microfiche, you can order copies of the articles online by using ILLiad. Click on Request an Article and fill out the form. You will receive an email with a link when the article is available, usually within 24-48 hours (M-F).

Articles that are not available either in the library or in library databases can be ordered on interlibrary loan, through ILLiad. ILL can take anywhere from 3-5 business days, on average.