Research Guides: FYS Law, Justice, and Society: Find Background Info

Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference database that provides access to a large number of biographical sources, atlases, and encyclopedias covering the arts, business, economics, history, literature, science, technology, religion, philosophy, politics, psychology, geography, country studies, and more.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides reports of research and analysis on issues in the news. Coverage includes health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each report focuses on a single issue and is written by a seasoned journalist.

Online Encyclopedias/Dictionaries

Reference Books

The American Dictionary of Criminal Justice by Dean John Champion
Call Number: 364.03 C452a
ISBN: 1931719330
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
The Third Edition of The American Dictionary of Criminal Justice is a reference every student of the criminal justice system should own. Like any good dictionary, this resource will assist students in a variety of courses - as well as in writing papers and understanding terminology in journal articles.
Black's Law Dictionary, Standard Ninth Edition by Bryan A. Garner
Call Number: Ref 340.03 B627b9
ISBN: 9780314199492
Publication Date: 2009-06-25
Criminal Justice by Phyllis B. Gerstenfeld (Editor); Dawn P. Dawson (Editor-In-Chief); Christina J. Moose (Editorial Board Member); R. Kent Rasmussen (Editorial Coordinator); Salem Press Staff
Call Number: Ref 345.7505 C929
ISBN: 1587652188
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
Criminal Justice is a three-volume reference set covering the most important aspects of criminal justice in the United States.
Historic U. S. Court Cases by John W. Johnson (Editor)
Call Number: Ref 345.5 J67h2
ISBN: 0415930197
Publication Date: 2001-09-07
This collection of essays looks at over 200 major court cases, at both state and federal levels, from the colonial period to the present. The articles include recent topics such as the Microsoft antitrust case and the OJ Simpson trials.
Illustrated Great Decisions of the Supreme Court by Anthony Mauro
Call Number: 347.7326 M453i
ISBN: 1568024827
Publication Date: 2000-03-01
Illustrated Great Decisions of the Supreme Court is an essential introduction to the most important historical and current decisions of the Supreme Court. With over 75 photos, portraits, political cartoons, and drawings, a comprehensive bibliography and an easy-to-access subject/case index, this book is a perfect starting point for all research on Supreme Court decisions.
The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions by Kermit L. Hall (Editor)
Call Number: Ref 345.5 Ox98
ISBN: 0195118839
Publication Date: 1999-04-08
Religion and Law in America by Laura Mars-Proietti (Editor); Christopher Anglim (General Editor)
Call Number: Ref 342.73 An589e
ISBN: 1592372988
Publication Date: 2009-03-01

Topic Development Exercise

Reference resources like those listed above are excellent places to start research by getting an overview of a topic and developing ideas about how to narrow that topic, and by providing a bibliography of relevant resources on the topic. Keep in mind that because they provide an overview, they are generally not directly used within a research paper. You will be assigned one of the resources below to use to search your topic.

You will be assigned to use one of the reference resources below to search a topic of interest for your FYS research paper. In this Google Sheet, you will post your findings and answer some questions. Also, Be prepared to discuss whether you found the resource helpful and why (i.e. is the article thorough?, does it provide any ideas/terminology?).

Reference Resource List

1. Credo Reference Database http://libraryguides.etown.edu/az.php?a=all

2. Wikipedia

3. QuickSearch (Research Starter) http://www.etown.edu/library/

4. The Oxford Guide to Supreme Court Decisions (print)

5. Illustrated Great Decisions of the Supreme Court (print)