Research Guides: SGPS: Sociology of the Family: Home

Resources for the Sociology of the Family

This guide has Databases, Books, and Journals selected just for your course.

If you are having trouble getting results or selecting the right resources, feel free to contact a librarian with questions!

Databases

Subject Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Complete with indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources; also includes searchable cited references.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Sources include peer-reviewed journals, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Also contains articles from the PsycArticles database.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific journal articles in psychology and the behavioral and social sciences from journals published by the American Psychological Association. Only contains articles from the APA.
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a large, multidisciplinary database that provides access to peer-reviewed, scholarly research in the following subject areas: Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social and Behavioral Sciences.

Demographics and Statistical Data

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistical data from sources such as opinion research institutions, business organizations, scientific journals, trade publications and government agencies. Topics include business, politics, society, technology, education.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer is a data visualization and mapping tool which provides easy access to current and historical demographic information from the U.S. Decennial Census, American Community Survey (ACS), County Business Patterns, and more. Users can create maps and reports in order to visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history.

General and Reference Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary full-text database of over 10,000 academic journals, newspapers, magazines, reports, and books. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study including the humanities, sciences and social sciences, education, arts, literature, and more.
(replaces Academic Search Complete)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary archive of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics. JSTOR also contains a large collection of scholarly ebooks from academic publishers.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference database that provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, atlases, and biographical sources covering a broad spectrum subjects. Browse the sociology encyclopedias here.

Books

There are thousands of eBooks available in our collection with sociology as the subject and family or marriage as keywords. Depending on the exact topic, there should be many more options as well. Use this list, and filter by subject to narrow your results.

Journals

If you'd like to browse journals to see what topics are currently being covered in sociology journals, Journal Finder is good for browsing. Look for the categories on the left of the page and try narrowing your search to the sociology category. These journals are also all searchable through Quick Search.

Looking for additional help getting started with your research?

Check out our guide to Getting Started for help with:

The Research Process
Search Strategy & Techniques
Citation
Evaluating Sources
Finding Specific Types of Information
Writing Assistance

or Ask a Librarian!

Email: ask@etown.libanswers.com

Text: 717-759-9178

Call: 717-361-1461

Chat with a Librarian

Schedule an Appointment