Research Guides: Women and Gender Studies: A Research Guide: Databases

Best Databases for Women & Gender Studies Research

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts covering the full spectrum of gender-related scholarship. It offers over a million records from scholarly and popular publications, including journals, books, conference papers and theses. Subjects include gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism and gender identity.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
For social and psychological aspects of gender studies issues: (via EBSCOhost) 1908+. Articles from over 700 sociological journals, covering topics such as abortion, gender studies, marriage and family, religion and urban sociology.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
For social and psychological aspects of gender studies issues: (via EBSCOhost) 1887+.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
For social and psychological aspects of gender studies issues: (via EBSCOhost) 1985+. Full text of 41 psychology journals. For maximum results, start by searching PsycINFO, below, which covers 1887 to the present.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
For historical aspects of any topic: (via EBSCOhost) 1925+. Find articles covering literature, philosophy, the arts, history, and culture.
(replaces Humanities International Complete)
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
(through EBSCOhost) 1975+.
Large academic multi-disciplinary database, provides full text for more than 4,500 publications. Great starting point for any topic.
(replaces Academic Search Complete)
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
1991+. Online periodical from Congressional Quarterly research staff presents excellent summaries of current events, pro/con issues, such as women's rights, transgender issues, gender and pay, gender and education, women in the military, gendercide, etc.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistical data from sources such as opinion research institutions, business organizations, scientific journals, trade publications and government agencies. Topics include business, politics, society, technology, education.

Pew Internet and American Life Project
An initiative of the Pew Research Center, a nonprofit that looks at issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. Non-partisan.

How do I get the article?

Use Journal Finder to see which journals you can get. Some titles are within the High Library itself (in print, microfiche, or microfilm), others are available electronically in various databases. If the journal is held, check to see if the dates you need are available. This is a powerful gateway to about 33,000 titles!

If the periodical you want is in microfilm or microfiche, you can order copies of the articles online by using ILLiad. Click on Request an Article and fill out the form. You will receive an email with a link when the article is available, usually within 24-48 hours (M-F).

Articles that are not available either in the library or in library databases can be ordered on interlibrary loan, through ILLiad. ILL can take anywhere from 3-5 business days, on average.

Women and Gender Studies: A Research Guide

High Library QuickSearch

Google Scholar

Best Databases for Women & Gender Studies Research

How do I get the article?