Skip to Main Content

Music : A Research Guide

Databases

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.

Reference Books in the Library

Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Call Number: Reference 780.3 G964 2006
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Call Number: Reference 780.9 G233
Musical AKAs : assumed names and sobriquets of composers, songwriters, librettists, lyricists, hymnists, and writers on music
Call Number: Reference 780.922 D786m
ISBN: 0810857391
New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
Call Number: Reference 785.4203 N532 2002
New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
Call Number: Reference 781.9103 N532
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Call Number: Ref 780.3 N532 2000
29 volumes
Orchestral Music - a Handbook
Call Number: Reference 785.016 D186o4
Encyclopedia of Musical Theater by Kurt Gñzl; Kurt Gñzl
Call Number: Reference 782.14 G211e
ISBN: 0028649702
Publication Date: 2001-05-17

EBooks

The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781846098567
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
The Encyclopedia of Country Music by Michael McCall (General Editor); John Woodruff Rumble (General Editor); Michael Gray; Jay Orr; Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum Nashville, Tenn. Staff (Contribution by); Vince Gill (Foreword by); Paul Kingsbury
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780195395631
Publication Date: 2012-02-01