Skip to main content
site header image

Hunting for specific sources: Industry Info

reviews, company info, pro/con, etc.

Reference Collection sources

Market Share Reporter.
Ref 380.1 M345

Compilation of market share reports from periodical literature.

North American Industry Classification System.
Ref 338.0012 N864

Allows one to find equivalent industry codes between the Standard Industrial Code (SIC) and the NAICS.

Standard Industrial Classification Manual.
Ref 338 St785


U.S. Industry and Trade Outlook 2000.
Ref 338.4 Un58u 2000


Encyclopedia of American Industries. 2 vols.
Ref 338.0973 En56 1998

Arranged by SIC code for manufacturing or service industries.

Encyclopedia of Global Industries.
Ref 338.003 En56

Arranged by SIC code.

Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries.
Ref 338.003 En562

Arranged by SIC code.

Ready Reference Sources (behind reference desk)

Industry Surveys. Standard and Poor’s Corporation.
Ready Ref 332.67 St785i (Behind reference desk)

Includes basic and current analysis for 33 major domestic industries. Includes financial comparisons of the leading companies in each industry and is updated quarterly. Older issues are in the stacks and are available for checkout.

RMA Annual Statement Studies.
Ready Ref 657.3 R642s (Behind reference desk)

Contains composite financial data on manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing service and contracting lines of business. Balance sheets and income statements are shown in common size, with each item a percentage of total assets and sales (or revenues), respectively. Some industries are not represented because the sample size is too small or there were significant questions concerning the data. Older issues are in the stacks and are available for checkout.

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios.
Ready Ref 338.5 T864e (Behind reference desk)

Reports on 192 major and minor industries. Provides fundamental analytical tools needed to compare companies in the same industry and of the same asset size. Past trend analysis was not continued because of the switch to NAICS coding and additional industries. Older issues are in the stacks and are available for checkout.

Value Line Investment Survey.
Ready Ref 332.6 V215 (Behind reference desk)

Provides a one page analysis of industries and is updated quarterly. Check the table of summary and index contents sheet to locate a particular industry.

Online sources

Ask Us

Type your question in the textbox.  Not the right answer, e-mail us!